Winston weekend Bye Umberto and how many books have I left ?

20160221_052423

I could not mention the sad loss of Umberto Eco which was announced on Friday I was due to review Numero Zero as part of my MBIP2016 possible this week so I will still do so. As I have only Prague cemetary under review here fter it was on the IFFP a few years ago , I actually own all his novels baring that and Numero zero which is a library book. He was a talented writer that liked to play with Genre of Fiction and also raise genres like the thriller to a higher lit level. He was also a talent academic and expert in semiotics.  His loss is sad from those early William weaer translation that showed what great books and great translators can do !

The loss of Umberto makes me thing of time and how many books we have left to read , I read this piece on times flow stemmed .Books that made my ears burn  where he finishes the piece of with his estimate total of books he has left to read. Well I had a quick add together of saying 100 books average a year , I read 120-130 the last fie years a 100 seems a fair guess and I have said another 40 years for me which seems fair we are long lived in my family so that is maybe 4000 books I have left maybe more. a few more journeys around the globe.But which books , That is becoming a point I seem to want to try more exotic books all the time those translated gems that many miss and I feel more of these will appear as 40000 isn’t enough to waste time on poor books or even hyped books .As I aim to read my 4000 and have  a few more .

How many books have you left ?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deepika Ramesh
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 16:53:25

    This is a lovely blog. The only Eco book that I have in my stash is ‘The Name of the Rose’. After I learned that he passed away, I was sadder for not reading any of his books. I hope to read it this year.

    And I hope to read 2,000 more. I look forward to reading about 50 to 70 books each year.🙂

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 18:13:23

    What a question! I’m going to brood on this, as the thought of a finite number of novels available to me suddenly makes me feel all too aware of my mortality. A sobering thought indeed.

    Reply

  3. heatherdpear
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 19:21:25

    I’ve not thought about it that way Stu. I’ll just go free form and read what gets in front of me however many that might be.

    Reply

  4. sharkell
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 20:03:08

    Funny, I did this calculation a few months ago (I’m an accountant in real life) and I worked out I only had around 4,000 books too. I now abandon most books that I’m not enjoying – life is too short and there are too many enticing opportunities out there.

    Reply

  5. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 20:35:22

    I have far too many books to read and I just won’t have enough time left to read them all!

    Reply

  6. Lisa Hill
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 22:56:42

    I’m a bit older than you are, Stu, so I don’t even want to think about this!
    Instead I will tell you that Baudolino is a real treat in store, I liked it even more than The Name of the Rose.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  
