Winstons Post Down the Una

Two books that I received this week .The first is a Novel that follows one man’s journey through the past through the Bosnian war , but also the world around him the river Una and also the flights of fancy every child and young man has. The book has the original cover and illustrations that were in the Bosnian edition of the book. This book won the European union prize for literature. Another gem from Istros books who as ever is bringing us the best of Balkan Lit .

Another arrival is a book I was told about a couple of years ago. I was lucky with a couple of other blogger to have an afternoon tea with the great Christopher Maclehose. Whilst having tea we were told that this book had just been signed to be translated and that Kurkov considered it his best book The book follows characters through the soviet years from the end of world war to to the edge of the crumbling communist world . The title comes from the inventor of the fuse for Dynamite. The book has a lot of what is best in kurkov it say I have reviewed two of his books before The milkman at night and his famous death and the penguin  and love the way he shows the madness and satirical side of the communist years.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Feb 20, 2016 @ 05:47:31

    I bought Death and the Penguin when you reviewed it, now I must get this Kurkov too!

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Feb 20, 2016 @ 10:43:34

    Kurkov keeps cropping up on my radar, so I must get hold of something of his to read. As Lucy at HBH recently reviewed Death and the penguin I might try this. (Actually I was sold when I saw those covers – shallow – moi?😉 )

    Reply

  3. Melissa Beck
    Feb 20, 2016 @ 15:59:38

    I love Istros Books as well. I will have to take a look at this book, the pictures sound like it is worth buying in the hardcover version.

    Reply

  4. BookerTalk
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 16:53:19

    once i’ve cleared some space on the shelves I’m hoping to take a look at Istros

    Reply

Leave a Reply

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  
