An ode to Brim library

Brimington Library

well guardian has love letter to libraries on the website today. for me a a reader and a blogger wth out my local library I would be a poorer reader.

To Brim Library

Not cute or big  but

a 100 paces from my door

You too this reader

A 100 miles and more in the mind

Dear brim library

you have filled my mind to the brim

Taken me as  a reader to the rim

 

 

I love my library I use it every week near enough without it I wouldn’t been able to have done the last three shadow IFFP juries as they have always had some if not most of the books I wanted. In a time when we are talking about kids not read we need keep open our libreaires our shining beacons in the dark world of tech.I love the fact a click away is nearly every book I could ever want and the journeys I take in the world of translated fiction .

Stu library user .

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarinaSofia
    Feb 05, 2016 @ 11:09:18

    It doesn’t have to be big or magnificent to do the job. Well done, Stu, for standing up for your local!

    Reply

  2. Lisa Hill
    Feb 05, 2016 @ 11:18:14

    I love my library too, Stu, and I think society would be the poorer without them.

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Feb 05, 2016 @ 11:46:11

    It’s fab you have a local place that can get you access to such a wide array of books – good for them! “Libraries gave us power….”

    Reply

  4. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    Feb 05, 2016 @ 14:21:32

    I love my library as well, or, to be more precise, the library systems in my area. I searched the catalogs for “translated fiction” the other day and was delighted to see how many books popped up. Interestingly enough, the smallest branch has the widest selection; it obviously has an awesome acquisitions librarian.

    Reply

  5. Jonathan
    Feb 05, 2016 @ 18:16:07

    A bit before Xmas I was in my local library, which is quite small, when I overheard a child joyously exclaim ‘Wow! Look at all these books! What a cool place!’ It made me feel glad to be alive.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  
