Winstons books Sheffield and Chesterfield

Well I did review yesterday The boy who stole Attila’s horse which was one of three books I brought earlier this week from Sheffield as I have been off this week and we both had monday off we went for the day and as there waterstones has a slightly better selection of translated books I always love a look round.

20160129_160447First up is a trilogy of Novels by Samuel Beckett , which mix’s my wanting to read more Irish fiction and still reading translation add to this I see that World republic of letters have two translation of the same book out a Gaelic classic , I feel I be reading both Irish lit and Translated books. The second book is A school for Fools by Sasha Sokolov, which grabbed me for two reason first it is from NYRB classic a name I trust the other reason is a quote on the back if James Joyce had written in russian this would be the last two chapters of Ulysses.Another for my russian list this year.

20160129_160538

Then I meet Amanda after work yesterday and we spent a few hours in town I found three books, the first two in Oxfam Two Adolescents by Alberto Moravia is made up of two novella Agostino and Disobedience , I remember someone  reviewing last year  the first novella Disobedience , which is a NYRB classic book now. The second book is a book by Roland Barthes on how myths are made and semiotics have come to me so much.

20160129_160556

Strange how books I get connect in some way talking Myth and semiotics, the one writer we may think of is Umberto Eco and I happen to get this Baudlino is the one of two novels by him I don’t own I haven;t Numero Zero but I have read it over christmas but I want to have all his books on my shelves.

What books have you brought recently ?

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 18:24:52

    Great finds Stu! I loved the Sokolov – hope you do too!

    Reply

  2. Jody
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 19:39:08

    Found an old copy of Aldous Huxley`s first novel, ` Crome Yellow `.
    It was nothing like his later works.
    Rather an interesting first attempt, though.

    Reply

  3. roughghosts
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 20:21:44

    I wish we had charity shops, they seem to have a much better selection than the commercial used bookshops here carry. The Sokolov is on my wishlist and. I almost bought it yesterday but decided to hold off. One of my local stores keeps a full stock of nyrb.I’ve had the Beckett trilogy forever but keep digging back into his short prose. Must fix that. I have read the Eco too and quite liked it.

    My recent purchases have been influenced by the subtexts worked into a new seagull book i’m reviewing (Klaus Hoffer). So I bought Flann O’Brien’s Third Policeman and Moravagine by Blaise Cendrars which sound very strange.

    Reply

  4. Jonathan
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 20:46:42

    Oh, the Beckett Trilogy is one of my favourite books; I’ve read it several times – I’m probably due for another read soon. I also have a secondhand copy of Baudolino hanging around waiting to be read.

    Recent secondhand purchases are The Devil Tree by Jerzy Kosinski, I Served the King of England by Bohumil Hrabal, Vienna 1900 by Arthur Schnitzler and The Street of Crocodiles by Bruno Schulz. I’ve gotta get reading….

    Reply

  5. Lisa Hill
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 22:32:39

    *snap* I have an old Penguin Moravia which I found in an Op Shop too!
    and I *loved* that Baudolino! I am sure you will too.
    BTW I found this article about Thomas Bernard which I thought you might want to use when you next do a TB review, it’s very interesting. http://rhystranter.com/2016/01/29/lars-iyer-on-the-influence-of-thomas-bernhard/#more-9482

    Reply

  6. BookerTalk
    Jan 31, 2016 @ 06:03:41

    I found Barthes interesting but tough going and so best taken in small doses. You have far more interesting charity shops in your part of the U.K. Than we have in Wales.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2016
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
