New year new order

image

I sorted the four shelves I use next to my sofa today these are always changing and a new year always sees a clear out of books that were ever failed projects or I just didn’t fancy in the end or those lucky ones I have read. I like reorder and  see what is there and maybe make small plans for the coming year. Too the fore is a number of Gabriel Garcia Marquez books 9 in all some of which I have reviewed here already but it would be nice to fill the others gaps in his books on the blog. I have a similar pile of Murakami books on an upstairs shelf with similar idea in mind. I want start filling in the gaps in writers I love a lot of which I read pre blogging days.
Have you writers you want to have more of on your own blog ?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Max Cairnduff
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 14:57:23

    Stu, I have more writers I want to have more of on my blog than I have days to read books in.

    I’ll certainly be interested in your Murakami thoughts though.

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

  2. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 16:16:08

    Those shelves look awfully appealing! Like Max, there are so many writers I want to read and write about – I do wonder if I’ll live long enough….. =:o

    Reply

  3. parrish lantern
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 17:42:18

    My aim this year is to read only books that I’ve got on my shelves have a great new year

    Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 21:36:39

    I have vague plans to complete reading all works by various authors: these are mostly Australian (David Malouf, Roger McDonald, Elizabeth Jolley, Jessica Anderson etc) but also Graham Greene, EM Forster etc. But I read many of these pre-blog so they’re not going to be reviewed unless I re-read them.
    I’ve been doing my annual ‘stocktake’ too. I’ve found three titles that had duplicates and a small pile to go to the Op Shop because I’ve decided that I’m never going to read them. I’ve bravely made another small pile labelled read these or throw out, meaning that if they don’t get read in the next month or two, out they go.

    Reply

  5. Dagny
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 22:55:46

    My bookshelves are two rows deep, so whenever I take out the front row to browse the ones behind, there’s always a few forgotten books.

    Reply

  6. BookerTalk
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 23:10:48

    I’d love to fill in my Zola gap since everything I’ve read so far I have loved. On the lighter side I have a few books from Louise Penny which are crime fiction set in Canada. But as others have said, my list of writers I want to discover multiples by the hour it seems

    Reply

  7. SpaceCadet
    Jan 09, 2016 @ 17:31:38

    O, those bookshelves are so irresistible! Yes, of course there are writers I’d love to read more books from. Dostoyevsky, Boulgakov, Marquez, Saramago, Faulkner, Mo Yan, Yu Hua, Gunter Grass, and Borges are the first that comes to mind. But there are many more in store. Only, time is in short supply😉

    Reply

  8. Judith Harper
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 00:43:15

    Stacks of books to die for!
    Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)

    Reply

  9. Tony
    Jan 13, 2016 @ 10:35:21

    GGM is a writer I seem to have neglected a little, with only a couple on the blog, and only a few read beyond that. Natsume Soseki is fast becoming a completion project – with a couple of imminent arrivals, my collection will jump to fourteen books (and there aren’t that many more of his out there in English…).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2016
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
