Winston’s covers Turn turn Turgenev

image

As  the year draws to an end I think the rest of the year I will do just Russian covers first up is a Turgenev. A novel of a homecoming, have recently read another classic Russian novel I feel 2016 may be my year of russian novels I will add a few more Russian novels to the blog and will be showing the covers til end of year of the books I have either as reread or unread to add to the blog. Have you a favourite Russian Novel ?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 15:57:01

    As you know I love Russians, so I’ll watch what you read next year with interest!🙂

    Reply

  2. Dagny
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 17:56:07

    My favorite is Anna Karenina! Love that book, it makes my top all time list, not just Russians. And yet I’ve never been able to make it through War and Peace. Of the books by Turgenev, I also enjoyed Home of the Gentry and Fathers and Sons.

    Reply

  3. JacquiWine
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 18:50:02

    I’m woefully under-read when it comes to the Russians, but I really enjoyed Teffi’s Subtly Worded when I read it earlier this year.

    Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Dec 16, 2015 @ 21:24:40

    Too hard to choose, so I’ll share some unusual ones that people may not know: Resurrection by Tolstoy is a really interesting one, and anything by Gogol is weird but thought-provoking satire. Amongst contemporary authors, my favourites are The Concert Ticket and The New Moscow Philosophy. The one I wish everyone would read is Grossman’s Life and Fate because there is still after all these years too much ignorance about the role the USSR played in WW2. Grossman was a journalist and this novel about the turning point of the war in the battle for Stalingrad is just brilliant.

    Reply

  5. Mytwostotinki
    Dec 18, 2015 @ 17:22:59

    So many great Russian novels, it’s difficult to choose only one. But Oblomov was always a very special book to me and I hope to re-read again soon.

    Reply

  6. Anne Marie Jackson
    Dec 18, 2015 @ 22:46:04

    Hurrah for Russian novels!!!

    Reply

  7. Jody
    Dec 19, 2015 @ 16:36:35

    I am also reading Russian authors this winter.

    My all time favorite is ` Dr. Zhivago` by Pasternak…I read it every few years and always find something new in it.

    Currently reading ` Evening ` by Anna Akhmatova…her first poetry collection.., circa 1912.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2015
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
