Winston’s covers If Orson Welles was a fan I’m sold

20151206_184059

I subscribe to Mubi, A movie streaming service with a new film every day to watch so when Last Monday a film from Orson welles The immortal story , a french production for tv he made in the late 1960’s. I had to watch it firstly I hadn’t seen it before but also in looking up about the production for the film Welles was a fan of the writer of the story Karen Blixen (AKA Isak Dinesen). He had planned to do a number of short stories by her but end up making just this one. So when this weekend my great luck at seee or finding a book I have just discovered  struck again when I found the collection containing the Immortal story .I had to laugh another lucky find.

Have you read Blixen/Dinesen ?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Dec 06, 2015 @ 20:59:42

    Nice find – very lucky! I have at least one of her books on the shelves, but I haven’t read it yet.

    Reply

  2. Dagny
    Dec 06, 2015 @ 23:23:46

    We just finished Babette’s Feast at the Nutshell_Cubbyhole group. I knew about the movie, but didn’t know that Blixen had written it. I’ve had Out of Africa for ages, but haven’t read it. I have read her letters though. Extremely interesting for the most part.

    Reply

  3. Max Cairnduff
    Dec 07, 2015 @ 11:42:21

    I’ve reviewed one of hers at mine (https://pechorinsjournal.wordpress.com/2010/03/17/the-necklace-the-pearls-guy-de-maupassant-isak-dinesen/). It was good, but not so much so that I’ve rushed out to read lots more by her. It seems you had the same reaction with Out of Africa.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2015
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
