Winston’s covers – Eye catching Bird !!

Jaap robben

I love this cover, when earlier this year I got the world edition catalogue this picture was on the cover. I wasn’t even that bother by what the book was just that cover. Well I have been sent it and the book well that may be a gem it won the Dutch bookseller prize getting a quarter of the vote of the 117 books up for the prize. The book follows a mother and son relationship, they live on a small island between Scotland and Norway , Mikeal whose  father has disappeared whilst out on the sea. This follows His  and his mother’s life just after that has happened. I just think if Gerbrand  Bakker said “Beautiful Just beautiful ” about this book it has to be worth reading!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gemma
    Dec 05, 2015 @ 15:44:06

    That’s a really striking cover. The plot sounds interesting too and, like you say, if Gerbrand Bakker thinks it’s beautiful, it’s definitely one I’m interested in reading!

    Reply

  2. BookerTalk
    Dec 05, 2015 @ 18:08:14

    That cover certainly stands out. When will you read it – I’m curious to know if it lives up to the praise

    Reply

  3. roughghosts
    Dec 06, 2015 @ 01:17:02

    Not to judge books by covers, I know, but your post to twitter weakened my will and the book is now on my e-reader (the only option here apart from ordering from the UK). It does sound good. Despite the many books I have to read I am in a novel “slump”… so I buy more books and add to the pressure. Go figure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2015
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
