Kendrick Lamarr Who and don’t forget the fall

Well it is that time of year when the Uk music Magazines run the end of year lists, I have always been a huge fan of these list. I use it to see how my dwindle current taste is doing but also maybe to find a gem that has been missed from the last year and when the same record came second in both Mojo and Uncut and it was one I maybe didn’t grasp me in the reviews earlier in the year, so off to Spotify to listen and it was the opposite to earlier in the week when Benjamin Clementine won the Mercury prize ( I first mentioned him the week the winning album his debut album came out ) , this is the other side the how did that pass me by . The album is To pimp a butterfly by Kendrick Lamarr I ‘ve always had a liking for rap and hip hop from the early days of it hitting the uk in the early 80’s so this is a mix of what I love best of the genre clever lyrics, poltics , spoken word and jazz .

But missing the lists was The fall now I didn’t listen to John Peel as much as I did when I was teen in those last year, but at the time we didn’t know it was going to be the end. But I did worry for his favourite bands like The fall as he was the main person to play Mark E smiths unique brand of  Mancunian rock is a mix of Punk, Poetry, ladism, Drink and ever changing band members, So this year saw well Album 31 from the studio Sub Lingual Tablet is classic fall what more can you say. If you not heard Mark E smith go have a listen with a back catalogue of 60 plus albums there is a whole journey awaiting you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Nov 28, 2015 @ 21:32:11

    Always loved The Fall!

    Reply

  2. kimbofo
    Nov 29, 2015 @ 09:59:22

    I’m pleased to see someone’s still buying magazines, because it keeps people like me in a job 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
