Winston’s covers how to read a Novelist

image

Another day another library book arrives I sometimes get carried away on the library catalogue system.but this is one for me plan to pimp up the reviews for the blog add a bit of blind as this blog slowly clock up it 600th review two to go. I feel need to learn a little bit about reviewing not enough to lose my own voice but enough.to given my own voice a sound of the knowledge Base I have but sometimes struggle to convey in words. So this book is a collection a reviews interview and pieces about writers from John Freeman many years in the lit world.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Nov 27, 2015 @ 22:18:11

    Oh, sometimes I read professional reviewers and I think, I could and should write like that.
    And then I think, no, I’d lose half my readers if I did. What people like about book blogs like ours is an enthusiastic voice, and the way we relate the books we read to our own lives and what else we’ve read and plan to read in future.
    So while I occasionally read books of LitCrit and reviewing, I don’t plan to change what I do at all. Except maybe make my reviews a bit shorter. Sometimes I don’t have time to read long reviews and so I skip them and then somehow never get back to them. So I try to keep mine between 1000 – 1500 words if I can, though it depends on the book, of course. (I mean, you can’t review James Joyce’s Ulysses in 1000 words IMO, I wrote my thoughts about every chapter and posted them separately when I re-read that.)
    I like Kim’s occasional ‘catching-up short reviews’ as well as her more detailed ones at Reading Matters. Sometimes all you want is a taste of the book so that you can decide, yes, I want to read that one, or no, that’s not for me.

    Reply

  2. poppypeacockpens
    Nov 28, 2015 @ 16:25:02

    Love the idea of this one Stu – some great novelists included too – so much so just ordered a copy… agree with Lisa I’d hate to see you change or lose your voice but I know what you mean about getting ‘inspiration’ for posts & reviews… look forward to comparing how we each find it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
