Winstons covers 4 Infinte fail ?

infinte jest

Todays cover is one of those rare failed to reads for me. I was struck by Jonathan’s post here. Where he spoke about failing and trying again which is something I didn’t do with Infinite Jest I tried a few summers ago when there was a mass reading called the Infinite summer which I tried, but stuggled when Wallace start on about tennis , I have mention this before call this a silly scarred childhood of watching wimbledon after school at a family friends house when I would rather be at home or even outside. Lets face it Tennis in those days was a bit drawn out, any way this book was already in my mind after watching the trial to a forthcoming film The end of tour which is about a long interview he gave when a fellow writer joined him on the later stages of the tour for this book .The end of tour looks great what do you think ?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jonathan
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 21:56:22

    I nearly joined a GoodReads group read of this recently but I had to be honest with myself – it just doesn’t appeal to me. No doubt the size of the book appeals to some, the Pynchonesque prose to others, the mass of endnotes for others. Massive books these days tend to put me off reading rather than entice me – films also seem to be getting longer. I’ll still read big books but there must be something else to pull me in other than just the size. I’ll probably give the film a miss.🙂

    Reply

  2. MarinaSofia
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 12:26:26

    I liked bits and pieces of it – but there was just not enough to sustain me through so many hundreds of pages… A fail for me too!

    Reply

  3. Cathy746books
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 16:16:11

    I’ve tried this one several times and have never made it past 100 pages. Will I bother again? Not sure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
