Stepping back , sorry Amanda

I was busy typing last nights post when Amanda was trying talking and I said wait  as I’m busy doing a post. When I finally got to chat the moment to chat had passed, this isn’t the first time this has happened. I have got that caught up in this book blogging world that I didn’t talk to my wife , what the fuck is wrong with me . Well as I had trouble sleeping last night, as  I felt so bad about not talking to my darling wife last night . What if something happened, what  I would remember is  the fact I was busy typing away about a book, well sometimes things are more important in real life and looking back my favourite post this year on here for me it  was the one on Amanda and I trip to york, not the books .In a way the books are like a hamster wheel, that  I have got caught in I love reading but lets face it I am and never will be a decent reviewer, passion goes so far. I have step back this last 12 months I have from twitter and now feel I will do the same with blogging if this blog carries on it will be either a post once in a blue moon or just about amanda and I life and not a book blog any more.There are many great book bloggers out their a lot more translated blogger from when I started.So the next time amanda wants a chat I will chat.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jeff_lyn
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 07:48:07

    I suppose one of the keys to a happy life is working out what’s most important to you and working things from there and around it. I’ve spent far too much time working and ignored some aspects of my life but now try to balance more, not always successfully unfortunately. Have great respect for you and some other bloggers who produce such great work and at the same time do all the other things in your daily life.
    Good luck , hope you do post occasionally your blogs have opened up lots of ideas and books to me.

    Reply

  2. naomifrisby
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 07:49:51

    Sad to hear you won’t be blogging about books anymore, Stu, but I understand what you mean about getting trapped in it. You’ve a huge archive here for people to read and you’ve made a significant contribution to reviewing translated books – I wouldn’t have started paying attention to them if it wasn’t for you and I know I’m not the only one. I look forward to your occasional posts and seeing what you’ve been buying!

    Reply

  3. MarinaSofia
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 08:19:17

    I too will miss you and be sorry not to see you blogging regularly, but I can completely understand your point about it getting too overwhelming and making you forget about the things which really matter. Wishing you and Amanda all the best, and I’ll always be happy to read whenever you do have time to write something.

    Reply

  4. Woebegone but Hopeful
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 08:20:53

    Wise and poignant words. Been there myself. Sometimes we need time to step back
    Best wishes

    Reply

  5. Jenny Ackland
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 08:23:12

    Good on you.

    Reply

  6. roughghosts
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 09:04:14

    Wow Stu, sorry to hear that your relationship has suffered. I have been amazed at your ability to read and blog so frequently and hold down a job. I am off work and I don’t even come close. Your wife has to come first. You are so lucky to have her. I envy you that. And don’t hesitate to pop up with a few thoughts about a book now and again. This site is a vital resource, with such a wide range of countries represented. Best to you both.

    Reply

  7. sharkell
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 09:13:54

    Will miss your posts but completely understand your reasons.

    Reply

  8. poppypeacockpens
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 09:20:13

    Oh Stu… I will miss your posts but am very grateful for the invaluable library you have created that I can dip into when seeking inspiration. Of course Amanda and ‘real’ life has to take precedence…and it’s a poignant lesson as just starting to blog has made me truly appreciate the time & effort it takes. Feel like I have a new puppy – very demanding & needs house-trained; striving to invest a few months into getting a healthy balance.

    Take care x

    Reply

  9. Louise
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 10:12:33

    This is what it is like to have a relationship with a writer! Off in another world for hours each day. Maybe you can plan times when you can talk without distraction on a regular basis. I am certain you will work it out. You are both great people! Many thanks to both of you for the privilege of reading these informative and inspiring posts.

    Reply

  10. whisperinggums
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 12:24:31

    Well Stu, I hope you post every now and then – I’ve had a bad year in terms of blogging with my number of posts down quite a bit due to various family health issues. I love that you have thought through your priorities … blogging can start to drive you rather than you drive it can’t it? Anyhow, see how you go. In the meantime enjoy your life!

    Reply

  11. camilledefleurville
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 12:29:39

    I will miss you. But you are right: Amanda is more iimportant.

    Reply

  12. JacquiWine
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 13:25:06

    Like others here, I too will miss your regular posts, but I can understand your reasons for wanting to step back. You are an inspiration to us all, Stu – I’ll never forget how supportive you were when I first started blogging for the IFFP shadow group and I’ll always be grateful for that. Wishing you and Amanda all the best and I look forward to your occasional posts whenever you feel you have the time to write.

    Reply

  13. Martha Gifford
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 13:32:22

    Stu, I’ve enjoyed your book post and will miss them but I congratulate you for your ability to reassess and reset your priorities. Wishing the best of everything for you and Amanda.

    Reply

  14. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 14:09:27

    I totally understand your need to step back. You are right, real life is more important. I hope you will leave this blog open, because even just browsing randomly, I always find inspiration here.

    Reply

  15. BookerTalk
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 22:39:26

    It’s such a pity to hear this given the inspiration you have been to all of us. If it was not for your blog I wouldn’t have heard of so many authors and made new discoveries. But yes there comes a time when decisions have to be made about priorities in life. I sympathise because as I type this I can hear huffing and puffing coming from the other side of the living room. Better call it a day!

    Reply

  16. A Little Blog of Books
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 23:01:23

    I will miss your regular posts – especially as it was your blog which introduced me to the IFFP – but I can understand that there are other things in life must come first. Wishing you all the best.

    Reply

  17. Richard
    Nov 18, 2015 @ 04:45:00

    Running a blog can be super time-consuming so I can understand your decision. Still, I’d totally “forgive” you if you changed your mind since I’ll miss your enthusiasm! Good luck with whatever the future holds for you, though, Stu. Whatever happens, you should hold your head high about your blog and the quality work you’ve put in here over the years. Cheers!

    Reply

  18. parrish lantern
    Nov 18, 2015 @ 05:33:20

    Been doing the same myself, it’s a fine balancing act the work, hobby, family thing & either somethings gotta give or you work out some balance. Now work I’ve got to do as it pays the bills, but the family, hobby balance (because that’s what blogging is a hobby) well I thought long & hard & family wins. Still post but when I have the time, the blog will wait family comes first. As stated before it’s supposed to be fun & not a weight around your neck. Talk chat sing & dance with Amanda & when you’ve the time blog. Wooing the missus always comes first🙂

    Reply

  19. Claire 'Word by Word'
    Nov 18, 2015 @ 06:31:50

    Family is such a gift and it is so important that we are there for them and not to let them feel isolated. Sometimes the other things in life have to recede a little, to show that we are there when needed, but equally it is important that we don’t let go of our passions, which also nourish us. Finding the balance is key and I am sure you can do that Stu without letting go of your writing completely. Good luck and take care of you both.

    Reply

  20. Bellezza
    Nov 19, 2015 @ 01:22:54

    Totally get the hamster wheel thing, where the blog takes over and runs on ahead with the blogger trying to catch up. It’s ridiculous, until you take a step back and say, “Wait. I’m in charge, not the hamster.” How lucky Amanda is to have you, what a tender and loving husband you must be.

    Not to mention book blogger par excellence.

    Reply

  21. Mytwostotinki
    Nov 19, 2015 @ 21:18:35

    It’s always good to remember what are our priorities in life, Stu. Book blogging is very nice and rewarding, but the important people in our lives should come first. Fortunately it is more a question of the right balance instead of giving up blogging, especially with an understanding partner as your wife obviously is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
