Winston’s books A nobel and a night film some new books

I had a few appealing books arrive this last couple of days from some well known writers and also a bargain find. I collected a number of parcels from post office and found –

death by water by kenzaburo Oe

A new book from a Nobel Laurate is always a welcome book to read and I have only reviewed on other book by Kenzaboro Oe on the blog A personnel matter a story inspired by his son. This seems inspired by his father and a case of writers block it follows Kogito Choko a nobel winning writer struggling to write about his late father with whom he had a trouble relationship that was never resolved before he drown. So a red chest from his sister full of his fathers possessions maybe hold the secrets from the past.

for two thousands years by Mihail Sebastian

The second arrival is a classic from Romania Mihail Sebastian was a prominent figure in literary circles in the Romania in the early 1930’s. This autobiographical novel follows him as Facist takeover and deep rooted Anti semitism starts to take hold. The quote on the cover is Arthur Miller who compares his writing to Chekov.

same old story by Ivan Goncharov

I read Goncharov masterpiece Oblomov years and years ago so when Alma said they had a translation of his first novel The same old story a tale of alexander a poet who moves from the country to the city. He sees his ideal of life in the city changed as he struggles with the ruthless world of the city.

night film by Marisha Pessel

Now last is one of those bargain books we all find. I am a cfan of pound shops we always visit the one in town mainly for some lotus biscuits, but there is always something to find that is a bargain and I can’t help shifting through books most time I know it is going be a lot of books I don’t want but once in a blue moon a gem turns up and this is one such book it came out two years ago and is a novel about a horror director that hasn’t been seen in public for ear then his daughter dies and this gives a chance to a Journalist McGarth that has want to expose the director Cordova for a number of years but has lost a lot in this journey. The book also has an app to unlock interactive feature although I need use my old iphone to use it.

What books have you had arrive recently ?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarinaSofia
    Nov 14, 2015 @ 13:21:41

    OOoh, very excited about the Mihail Sebastian – I enjoyed him tremendously when I was younger, but didn’t think anything of his had ever been translated. This book is particularly sad – as he asked a good friend to write a preface to it and it turned out to be an anti-semitic rant which went against the very nature of the book. Terrible times. His plays and novels were still widely read even under Communism. His journals are also worth reading. Very talented young man, also good friends with Max Blecher.

    Reply

  2. BookerTalk
    Nov 14, 2015 @ 15:52:01

    Im discovering that our library system just can’t deliver much in the way of books in translation. Not even Nobel winners it seems (beyond a few of the obvious ones). So if I want to read books like this I’m going to have to dig into my pockets…..

    Reply

  3. Cathy746books
    Nov 14, 2015 @ 17:44:21

    I really enjoyed Night Film and the interactive app is fun, but not totally necessary to enjoy the book. Look forward to hearing what you think.

    Reply

  4. roughghosts
    Nov 14, 2015 @ 17:46:27

    I have to say that I have read the Kenzaburo Oe and just did not get it or like it. I had requested the galley and felt obligated, but the best I could do was throw a quick two star review on Goodreads and I felt bad because I have no idea if the book is bad, the translation is poor or, which is most likely, I just don’t do Japanese lit too well. I did not review it on my blog because I won’t write about books I do not like (or understand). It has been out here for a month or more and I think there have been some very positive reviews so I suspect the problem is mine.

    My most interesting incoming books this week are two of Dubravka Ugrešić’s novels: The Ministry of Pain and Baba Yaga Laid an Egg. I ordered one and happened to find the latter in a store. I typically find (and have some of) her essays so I am looking forward to these. Oddly I just noticed that Baba Yaga (Canongate) has no accents on her name. Weird, I mean how hard is it to include them?

    Reply

  5. Anokatony
    Nov 14, 2015 @ 21:06:05

    I am looking forward to ‘Death by Water’. It will be upcoming for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
