All days are night by Peter Stamm

 

All days are nights by Peter stamm

Swiss fiction

Original title – Nacht ist der tag

Translator – michaael Hofmann

source – library book

Have I said something wrong?
How can I know if you’re not going to speak to me?
There I am, in your eyes
And we’re only playing, but what am I saying?
Oh, what am I saying?
Oh, what am I saying?

Oh, there’s no one like you, no one like that now
There’s always some way that you could bring me down

Maybe it’s just that I fly too high, that the ground is hard
It always hurts me
When I fall over sideways and break out in sores and people start laughing
But it’s not what I’m into

I don’t expect you to know
I don’t expect you to

I’ve  choosen an old wedding present lyric as no one caught heart ache and bitterness better than David Gedge in his songs Gillian could been in one of his songs .

 

This the second book by Peter Stamm I have reviewed here, I reviewed Seven years two years ago and was blown away, but I then download his stories to my late kindle but never got to them so when looking for some ideas for this years German lit month I decide it was time to try another book by Peter Stamm. Stamm started out working at accounts then decide to return to university and studied subjects as varied as English , business and Psychology .He started in radio drama in the early 1990s and has written a number of novels stories and plays Since I last reviewed him he won the frank O’Connor short story prize and been on the man booker international list.

Half wake up then drift away. alternatively surfacing and lapsing back into weightlessness .Gillian is lying in water with a blue luminescence. Within it her body looks yellowish, but wherever it breaks the surface, it disappears into the darkness. The only light comes from the warm water lapping her belly and breasts, It feels oily, beading on her skin.She seems to be in an enclosed room, there is no noise, but she still has a sense of not being alone. Love is somewhere filling her up

The opening lines as she wakes up to what has happened to her .

All days and night is the story of a woman Gillian, she starts the book waking after a horrific crash after she had argued with her husband. He did in the crash leaving her with a broken life , broken body and worse of all in a way a broken face.The book follows her struggle to piece together her life together and also we see how the point at which the crash happened her pre crash life with her husband Mathias he was an editor and she was a presenter on tv , this is where she meet the man the caught the problem and why they had a drunken fight that lead to the crash Hubert is the man.He is an artist and took Nude pictures of her , that is what he does takes pictures of women naked at home and Mathias saw them which leads to the crash but why had she a problem with Hubert what part has he in her future ?

The day before the second operation, a sunday, Gillian visited her parents.She hadn’t seen then since the accident. When he mother opened the door and saw her, she turned aside and started crying.Her father stepped up and with an expression of annoyance pushed her mother out of the way

Come on in , he said

The new Gillian after the crash is to much for her mother .

This book has just the same feeling I had when I read seven years Stamm seems to be very good at cold characters, Gillian is a cold woman in a way her life is all face and scratch below that her life with mathias was all for show really. She was jut the face on tv her life had become a show really so when she loses nearly everything and everyone around her as she is now faceless looking for her old face but getting a new face and outlook. Yes Gillian is one of these woman who seems to have everything , but when it comes to that point of the crash what has she nothing for me that is what stamm captures so well in his prose a woman broken rebuilding herself but at the time she does the flaws of before are clear. Stamm has said all character are fiction even if based on real people such is the case her Gillian and mathias are a mix of characters but when you see them on the page you instantly know the sort as I would say .

Have you read Stamm

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mytwostotinki
    Nov 02, 2015 @ 18:30:54

    Read Seven Years and loved it. This one sounds also interesting. Great review, Stu.

    Reply

  2. Cathy746books
    Nov 02, 2015 @ 20:07:04

    This sounds quite interesting. I quite like those kind of cold characters and I love The Wedding Present!

    Reply

  3. Melissa Beck
    Nov 02, 2015 @ 22:37:37

    I read and reviewed this book last year and I really enjoyed it. I would love to read more by Stamm so I will have to look at Seven Years.

    Reply

  4. JacquiWine
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 07:43:55

    I haven’t read Stamm but keep meaning to give him a try. I might even have some of his short stories on the Kindle, but it’s easy to forget about ebooks when you’re scanning the bookshelves. I should take a look as I’ve heard nothing but good things about his work.

    Reply

  5. Jonathan
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 07:47:51

    I haven’t read any Stamm but I mean to. The problem is no one book of his jumps out at me.

    From which WP song were the lyrics taken?

    Reply

  6. Tony
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 08:19:16

    I’ve read all of Stamm’s novels and one of his story collections, but I’d have to say this is my least favourite. I found it really flat and disappointing, which was a shame because it was a book I’d been looking forward to reading. For me ‘Agnes’, ‘Seven Years’ and ‘Unformed Landscape’ are much better…

    Reply

  7. Vishy
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 12:43:46

    Nice review, Stu! Looks like another vintage dark Stamm novel🙂 My favourite Stamm book is ‘Unformed Landscape’. I liked it even more than ‘Seven Years’. Have you read it? If you haven’t, I would highly recommend it. Happy reading!

    Reply

  8. Caroline
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 16:32:00

    I’ve never been disappointed by this author. But I’ve not read this nor Seven Years yet. I really liked his short stories too.

    Reply

  9. 1streading
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 15:06:04

    I’ve read Seven Years and We’re Flying – and I’ve just started this, so I only read the beginning of your review! I’ll pop back later once mine is written.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: German Literature on the 2016 International Dublin Literary Awardf | Lizzy's Literary Life

Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
