Nobel winner 2015 Svetlana Alexievich

 

The winner has been announced earlier today,it was the Belarusian writer Svetlana Alexievich.Not a huge surprise she was second favourite last year in the betting and first for all of this years betting .Its great see a non fiction writer winner the prize,her reportage style is one I enjoyed last month ans will again when I get a copy of Zinky boys or the new book which is coming out on Fitzcarraldo editions next year . I described my view of her as” Bringing  clarity to a cacophony of voices ” which sums up my feeling of Voices of chernoybyl which I reviewed here .So on too next year and wait and see who wins .

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. roughghosts
    Oct 08, 2015 @ 15:34:17

    I do like it when the Nobel brings a lesser known voice to broader attention. It is a recognition of world voices.

    Reply

  2. A Little Blog of Books
    Oct 08, 2015 @ 16:48:48

    I haven’t read any of her work but look forward to discovering something new – I like your description of her writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
