International Poetry day Nobel Poets ? Ko Un and Adonis

Today is international poetry day,I have rarely featured poetry in translation,I personally read very little poetry maybe one or two collections a year if that so if tomorrow sees a Poet winning the Nobel I will be interested to read more as to get the prize for the best body of work must mean something anyway with today being international poetry day I will feature two short piece by two of the poets riding high in the Nobel Literature betting this year. Which poets from around the world have you read ?

Ko Un

The poet called the poet of his people .I liked this short poem Ear of the few I read by him.There is an article about him from the guardian a few years ago .

Ear

BY KO UN

TRANSLATED BY SUJI KWOCK KIM AND SUNJA KIM KWOCK

Someone’s coming
from the other world.
Hiss of night rain.
Someone’s going there now.
The two are sure to meet.

 

Source 

The second poet often mention for a Nobel is the Syrian poet Adonis or Adunis . I have read many of these piece from the wonderful Arablit about Adonis , you can also find a lot on the Arabist site as well .I choose a part of a poem about childhood think of those children in Syria or on the way here at the moment.

Adonis or Adunis (Ali Ahmad Said Esber)

 

I have mention him a couole of times in previous Nobel literature build up posts .

Celebrating Childhood

BY ADONIS

TRANSLATED BY KHALED MATTAWA

Even the wind wants
to become a cart
pulled by butterflies.
I remember madness
leaning for the first time
on the mind’s pillow.
I was talking to my body then
and my body was an idea
I wrote in red.
Red is the sun’s most beautiful throne
and all the other colors
worship on red rugs.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarinaSofia
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 19:00:31

    Thank you for sharing these – just what I needed on a manic day.

    Reply

  2. BookerTalk
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 21:29:02

    You know I can’t think of a single poet in translation I’ve experienced. Shocking isn’t it?

    Reply

  3. parrish lantern
    Oct 08, 2015 @ 04:36:16

    Hi Stu

    Poetry on Winstonsdad brillian!t hopefully this is the start of more poetry here so we could celebrate world poetry day next March together. Today is also National Poetry Day in the UK with the theme of light in celebration of that here is a poem

    LIGHTNESS OF THE NIGHT – Anne Vegter
    and I was dreaming of something riveting me to night then coffee and crüesli . . .
    Although taste suits a word and the name already a mouthful:

    is your sleep your way to weigh the beeeeeeeeep*
    In hindsight a pity, phrase with rebus. The dream that almost, now

    and also not. So the day is turned on, without surfaces, deeper can’t you, get there later or shower off the deep

    and the night out your mouth> clocking on leaving.
    For my little ones, I arrange buns by earth, fingers by mugs.

    So much I want the longest wave to throw me against the hardest cliff
    and not one part of the body burst away without loss of heat per mg.

    The word is massogram.
    That is: the taste of yes! zest fully immersed in the solution of it.

    Translation: 2005, Karlien van den Beukel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
