Kindle fire or paperwhite ? I’ve killed another ereader

iPad-eBook-Reader

Now her is a question for you all ,I went to charge my kindle fire back up this last week and found it had died tried various suggestions and no luck it had just gone to tech heaven as so much does this day .I now have a some point probably christmas to replace it , I have an ipad but find it cumbersome to read with so want a replacement Kindle , I hate having to get one but I do need it to read the ocasional PDF file or like this year with the IFFP I had to download most of the books , but this is the point I hate reading ebooks , but have to sometimes so do I pop for this bargain Fire from Amazon that is just 50 pound , I’m not sure what the scree ppi being so low will mean or do I pop for a paperwhite that is meant be near the paper look in its e ink screen , I did have a sony ereader(which I broke )but I wonder if the screens are better now than six or so years ago when I had the sony ? I know all about phones and stuff but still not sure on eink or a tablet to replace my fire hd .

Do you like ereader ?

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Naomi
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 19:22:02

    If E-readers aren’t your thing – I’d definitely go for a Paperwhite. The E-ink is brilliant. I love mine. 😊

    Reply

  2. Bina
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 19:29:37

    Oh I was thinking of getting a kindle fire hd 6, would you still recommend that though yours broke? I have an old kindle I really like, e-ink is great and easy to get used to. I know a friend who has the paperwhite and is super happy with it. I’d recommend that if you do not need a tablet for reading in apps like scribd or oyster and the like.

    Reply

  3. Claire 'Word by Word'
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 19:54:41

    I was talking to my stepson about using an e-reader today, he’s just spent a week away from technology and has been enjoying reading, we saw the kindle fire and the paperwhite but I recommended the paperwhite as the battery life is much longer and there is no temptation to use it as a tablet.

    Personally I opted for the e-ink basic version as well, I want my book to reamin a book and not turn into a screen that does other things. If I want the screen, I have to get up and move and stop being in reading mode. Keep it simple I say.

    Reply

  4. heavenali
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 20:16:48

    I confess I have a kindle fire tablet and a Paperwhite ereader. I think the tablet battery life isn’t good enough for reading on for long periods. The Paperwhite is wonderful I love mine – the e-ink and back light are brilliant features I work definitely buy it again if I had to

    Reply

  5. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 21:13:25

    I hate ereading so I make do on a work-provided tablet. My Middle Child has a bog standard kindle which I used once – it was ok but I prefer paper any day!

    Reply

  6. roughghosts
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 23:32:46

    I would vote for the Paperwhite myself. I have one and a kobo. I prefer the latter but the kindle seems a necessary evil at times. Mine will not read PDFs though, I use the kobo for those files, mine may be an older model. I find that I increasingly use ereaders when I have no other option. I prefer paper books if available. In fact I often find the e-books are much more expensive than paper now. Go figure.

    Reply

  7. Lisa Hill
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 01:32:39

    Same thing happened to me, Stu, only in my case it was because Amber (my villainous little puppy) chewed the recharge lead and damaged the slot in the kindle so that I couldn’t charge it any more.
    I bought the paperwhite as a replacement for when I travel, but be aware that it doesn’t have sound. That didn’t bother me until I bought a French reader that had sound files and I couldn’t use them.

    Reply

  8. parrish lantern
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 04:03:11

    Still got my original Kindle & it’s still going strong, not the best reading experience (that’s books) but got used to it over the years. Had a bit of a windfall recently & bought a Nexus 9 to replace my old 1st gen 7 & being an 8.9″ tablet I find I can rest it comfortably on my lap to read with.

    Reply

  9. Max Cairnduff
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 11:06:46

    Paperwhite all the way Stu. Eink is much easier to read for long periods than backlit screens of the sort you get on a tablet, and the battery life is much better.

    Reply

  10. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 14:49:11

    I don’t like reading on a tablet, and I find the screen for the bargain Fire too small. I love my original Kindle because it is solely for reading, but it’s starting to slow down. Once it goes completely, I will invest in the Paperwhite because of the battery life and the screen display.

    Reply

  11. vicky blake
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 15:46:59

    I have a kindle fire but don’t read much on it. I’ve tried but I just don’t get the same sense of where I am in a book when it’s on a screen. And it’s not so easy to flick through. However for research I find the highlighting function very useful. I don’t like scrawling over physical books but I’m perfectly happy highlighting all over the place on an e-book. That’s the bit I like best.

    Reply

  12. pennypoet007
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 19:26:20

    I have a kindle fire & it’s great for reading ebooks. There are not many ebooks I enjoy, only a few because I read ebooks while waiting in a queue or waiting for transport. My true book love is a hard copy. I use the kindle fire like an iPad. It does PDFs very well; I check the weather on it before going to sleep & play an occasional game of solitaire. I read newspapers on the Kindle fire & like that a lot I recommend the Washington Post.

    Reply

  13. Anne Marie Jackson
    Oct 06, 2015 @ 08:01:21

    As a nomad I’m completely dependent on e-readers. I agree with Naomi – go for the Paperwhite. I’m very happy with mine. To be honest, I don’t really miss paper books any more… (Sacrilege!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
