Happy international Translation day

borges

“The original is unfaithful to the translation.” Jorge Luis Borges

calvino

Without translation, I would be limited to the borders of my own country. The translator is my most important ally. He introduces me to the world. Italo Calvino

Translation is the art of failure. Umberto Eco

gunter-grass

Translation is that which transforms everything so that nothing changes.” Gunter Grass

I’ve choosen four quotes by writers whom I have read because of Translation , this blog wouldn’t be here with out the hard work of the many translator and their translations .So today we raise a glass to them and say Bravo for all the hard work and here is too many more books in tranalstion for Winstonsdad .

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dagny
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 15:58:24

    So thankful for all the translators! Without them I would not have read two of my favorite authors – Balzac and Zola – and so many more.

    Reply

  2. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 19:57:39

    Definitely three cheers for translators – without them I wouldn’t be able to read half of the books I do!

    Reply

  3. BookerTalk
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 20:56:17

    What a lovely idea to show appreciation. I am guilty of not noticing who the translators are yet as you say without them I wouldn’t have read so many authors. It’s such a skill to capture the essence of a writers style and at the same time make it meaningful in another language

    Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 21:19:01

    Well said, Stu, and I take my hat off to you too because I would never have discovered the wonderful world of translated fiction without you.

    Reply

  5. Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 22:18:07

    Priceless quotes, really! What a great way to celebrate the day! I enjoyed and will note down the quotes.
    Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)

    Reply

  6. Tony
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 22:47:32

    And so say all of us🙂

    Reply

  7. sharkell
    Oct 01, 2015 @ 09:58:46

    My glass has been raised!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
