From Algeria to Cape town Further journeys through Africa

African fiction

From Algeria where I plan to read Yasmina Khadra who I have three books on my shelves including the two recent Gallic book editions The african equation and the dictators last night .Two great books of Nigerian fiction Chinua Achebe things fall apart (a reread ) and second class citizen by Buchi Emecheta together with the short story collection Under african skies .Then more classics A grain of wheat by Ngugi , The gab boys by  Cameron Duodu , The long claws of fate by uche Bialonwu and lastly from Senegal Birago Diop with the tales of Amadou Koumba .Then cutting edge writng from Eben Venter from South Africa wolf ,wolf Ghana’s Ayesha Harruna Attah Saturday’s Shadows , her second novel and from Sierra Leone Pede Hollist These are some choice of books from Africa I hope to add in between now and the end of the year after the last few days of blogging about this years books from Africa I have read , I was reminded how much I haven’t read and how much I need to know to build a picture of what is lit from Ghana , Nigeria , South Africa not just Africa as a whole we don’t talk about European fiction but of French , German and so on canon’s .

the confines of the shadow

First up later today is this which I have had for a few month from the publisher Darf publishing Alessandro Spina epic this is the first of three volumes told the history of Bengazi in the 20th century .What most appealed to me is the quote by Claudio Magris on the front an Italian writer whose book I read last year was just perfect so I expect a book he would like I would like as well .

What books from Africa have you enjoyed ?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jonathan
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 13:03:36

    I recently read two books by Tayeb Salih: ‘Season of Migration to the North’ & ‘The Wedding of Zein’. SOMTTN was really good.

    Reply

  2. Caroline
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 14:32:53

    I’ll be following this with great interest. I’ve mostly read African novels written in French and most of them haven’t been translated (yet). I’m interested in Spina’s book.

    Reply

  3. BookerTalk
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 20:25:26

    I have been dipping into Khadra’s The Dictator’s Last Night – enjoyable so far. I’ve not read A grain of Wheat by Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o but read Petals of Blood a few years ago and was overwhelmed by how good it was. will be interested to see if A Grain of Wheat lives up to that

    Reply

  4. biblioglobal
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 22:36:05

    I would second Season of Migration to the North. I love Chimamand Ngozi Adichie, especially Half of a Yellow Sun. One day I Will Write About this Place by Binyavanga Wainaina is also very interesting writing, though it is memoir rather than fiction.

    Reply

  5. roughghosts
    Sep 11, 2015 @ 04:03:15

    Great selection Stu. My goal before year end is to increase the range of African works I read. I have a number ready and waiting. I also ordered a handful of North African works translated from Arabic (including Migrations which is still in migration at the moment) while recuperating here.

    Then there is my South African obsession. I have read 12 (just finishing the thirteenth) so far this year and for fun I catalogued them all today. I have over 72 titles – fiction, nonfiction memoir and poetry! I have read over 20 to date but that is still an embarrassing amount. When I was in South Africa I did try to increase the diversity of my collection with more black writers, established and new, several coloured writers and a couple of Indian South Africans.

    Reply

  6. bythefirelight
    Sep 12, 2015 @ 21:48:02

    I just finished Shadows of Your Black Memory by Donato Ndongo. It was very good. Post colonial lit with a Spanish back drop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
