To Read or not too read ? But leave Terry alone !

jorge-luis-borges

Borges describe Heaven as a kind of library .Now what would be in that library . That is a good  question for everyone it would be different as we are all different  I haven;t read Terry Pratchett but when I read an article the other day called Get real Terry Pratchett is not a literary Genius  , a dreadful piece by a writer that hadn’t read .The books of the writer he was so easy to cast away as inferior .A good question is why pick a writer you have no knowledge of and that has just died .Who decides if he will be literary or added to the cannon of books well time many books have been considered inferior when they came out  .The writer of the piece , said the outcry  for Terry was far more than when Gunter Grass and Gabriel Garcia Marquez .Well maybe the outcry was more in Spanish and German for both these writers ? A quick search for Gunter grass is dead in german turn up pages of results . I love both those writers but would I want them to have had more coverage than Terry Pratchett’s death no  I don’t Terry got the coverage he deserved , for a good  many reason his willingness to talk about  his dementia , the fact he touched his fans far more than both Grass and Marquez have (sorry but any one seen a gathering of his fans on tv knows they would died for him ) and is considered someone who has made a lot of males in the 18-30 age group pick up a book  and read for those three reason alone but you could caryy on and I could name one reason each for Marquez and Grass why coverage would be less but I am no Troil . So as this Paris review piece said it is to troil writers , we all know writers that don’t appeal but maybe we should all live in our version of Borges’ Heaven a library of our choice be an odysseus on a voyage of books discovery and maybe along the way slay a few monster we may not know of be scared of . I haven’t read Terry’s books but we all have that choice not to read as I wish I had the article in the guardian .I may never read Terry Pratchett but thats because he isn’t on my journey to Ithaca , but I admire what he did .

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Sep 07, 2015 @ 20:44:51

    Well said, Stu – I read a lot of Pratchett back in the day and although I parted company with his books, I thought that piece was dumb. Let’s all live and read in our own personal Library Heaven.

    Reply

  2. Lisa Hill
    Sep 07, 2015 @ 22:21:51

    I think you have hit the nail on the head, Stu. A lot of what passes for journalism these days is written specifically to annoy people so that, yes, they click, they see the ads, and so someone has made money.
    What puzzles me is, as you say, why would anyone want to stoop so low?
    I thought it was wonderful that in an age when reading is not the most popular cultural activity and some people never ever read a book, this author Terry Pratchett was wildly popular. That has to be a good thing!

    Reply

  3. Tony
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 01:51:19

    A terrible article… I read a lot of Pratchett’s work when I was younger, and while I doubt I’ll be going back any time soon, to ridicule his work in this way (without having read it) says a lot more about the ‘journalist’ than about Pratchett himself…

    Reply

  4. Violet
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 01:53:36

    The amount of click bait masquerading as ‘real’ opinion is getting ridiculous. Also, some people’s need to be the centre of attention by writing such egregious nonsense is disappointing. A much-loved person just died. Have some respect for him, his family and fans, I say.

    Reply

  5. BookerTalk
    Sep 09, 2015 @ 07:47:16

    As a former journalist I despair at the decline in quality now that most newspapers feel pressured to be on demand 24 hours a day. That Guardian article seemed a deliberate attempt to get attention by being provocative. Says more about the author than anything else. thanks for the link to Paris Review article which I’d missed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
