National dog day some books with dogs .

6031982C-361D-4E50-BEBB-F823A639B30B

Well as you all know dogs and books are connected here on this blog .I debated whether to do a post today , but as much as I miss Winston I love dogs and had reviewed last year a great book about one man and his dog .John and George the dog follows the story of John Dolan a homeless man , whose path crosses with George the dog , whom he starts sketching the dog and selling his sketches leading to a way out of the streets as an Artist .Here is my review .

 

The Guardian has a list of ten dog stories today as well .There is two great dog books missing Niki the story of a dog by Tibor Dery The story of a dog in post war Hungary , I have read this a couple of years ago but never reviewed it .Niki and the other book I will mention are both from NYRB the other book is MY dog Tulip the story of Critic JR Ackerley and his mad dog Tulip a larger than life german Shepard . I love this book but also this book has a had a great film made of it .

As for me I am taking a break for a year or two from Dog ownership after twenty years or so off owning my first two dog . But the important part of today is to remember there is so many rescue dogs out there both my dogs I got via rescue dog centres as puppies .

What is your favourite dog books ?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Aug 26, 2015 @ 20:08:26

    I love Heart of a Dog by Bulgakov, although the dog doesn’t come out of it so well….. :s

    Reply

  2. julikins
    Aug 26, 2015 @ 20:55:47

    I haven’t read it but “spill simmer falter wither” by sara baume is supposed to be good! i read paul auster’s “timbuktu” years ago and remember enjoying it, though i remember basically nothing about it…

    Reply

  3. jeff_lyn
    Aug 26, 2015 @ 22:41:57

    Auster’s Timbuktu is one I’d second, its a lovely story. Also enjoyed Edgar Sawtelle which I didn’t think was going to be my type of book. Like you I’m a dog lover and always say I’ll never have another one but always do.

    Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Aug 27, 2015 @ 03:43:03

    *pout* I wish we had National Dog Day here in Oz, but we don’t.
    Oh well…
    My favourite dog story is Flush by Virginia Woolf. It’s not a bit like her other books, it’s just a “biography” of her dog, and it’s lovely.

    Reply

  5. Lisa Hill
    Aug 27, 2015 @ 03:58:48

    Oops, I came back here to correct my previous comment about Australia not celebrating National Dogs Day (it seems we do), and discover that my comment isn’t here. Maybe I didn’t ‘post comment’??
    Anyway, my favourite dog book is Virginia Woolf’s Flush, which is a lovely ‘biography’ of her dog. I’ve got it on audio and I love listening to it. It’s gorgeous.

    Reply

  6. Emma
    Aug 29, 2015 @ 14:55:36

    My favourite dog book is White Dog by Romain Gary.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
