Hidden gems unexpected books

 

thanks you for not reading

I will return tomorrow to reviewing but I just had talk about one of those reads we all get from time to time that blow you away as a reader .I brought Thank you for not reading for two reasons Dubravka Ugresic is a writer I wanted to read at some point and til now hadn’t got too .The other reason was it was half price in a sale recently .I expected this book to be quite academic , not sure why expected something quite clinical in her observation .But thankfully it isn’t no this is one of those books that make you want to go and buy everything the writer has written . It had me smiling nodding my head and go exactly all the way through . More about the book in a review shortly to come . But lets just say Her thoughts mirror thoughts from writers I have spoken to in person from the Balkans So how often have you read a book and had that same feeling of wanting to get everything by the writer after you’ve read their books for the first time ?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarinaSofia
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 10:02:02

    I want to read everything by her too, she seems like a kindred soul. Glad to hear you felt the same!

    Reply

  2. poppypeacockpens
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 10:14:12

    Isn’t it wonderful when somebody’s writing grabs you in such a way… I look forward to your review. I’ve read nearly all new to me authors this year and certainly recognise that feeling… Ferrante, Luiselli & Olmi immediately spring to mind as their stories linger; stories that make me want to study them closely, deconstruct even, to look at how the authors weave their magic.

    I’m ensconcedoing in Paris with my first Simone de Beauvoir She Came to Stay and I will certainly be seeking out more of her work.

    Reply

  3. Cathy746books
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 10:39:17

    Sounds intriguing, look forward to the full review.

    Reply

  4. Bellezza
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 14:28:52

    It doesn’t happen very often, Stu, so I’m glad you’ve made this discovery!

    Reply

  5. Guy Savage
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 15:15:37

    Is the cover/title a reference to ‘thank you for not smoking’?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
