Weekend reading Papua New Guinea

image

A short post as I have been busy today put before work today and then at work til ten tonight .I am off this weekend and as I have every second weekend off I like to choose a couple books to try and read this weekend I’m trying a collection of essays and fiction by the great Croat writer Dubravka Ugresic looking forward to this as the lovely Celia Hawksworth has translated it as one of my favourite translators .Then I am off to Asia and a travel memoir from Trish Nicholson about her time teaching in the remote West Speke province as 8 not read a book from Papua New Guinea it is chance to discover this country .
What are your weekend reads ?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 06:34:36

    I am between books and unable to decide what to pick up next – agony!

    Reply

  2. whisperinggums
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 06:58:30

    I’m hoping to finish my current read so I can finally get onto something else, probably the biography of Thea Astley I think.

    BTW We Aussies would not call Papua New Guinea, Asia. We’d call it Oceania, or Melanesia. The book sounds great though. I hope it’s a good read.

    Reply

  3. Caroline
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 08:28:23

    That brings back memories. Most of my co-students did research there as Basel uni and the Cultural Anthropological musuem are spezialized. If you like this you might enjoy Malinowski’s diary. Also some of Margaret Mead’s books like Growing up in New Guinea.

    Reply

  4. Mytwostotinki
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 08:55:31

    My weekend read is Draught, a novel by Indonesian author Iwan Simatupang.

    Reply

  5. Jonathan
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 09:13:22

    Short stories….it’s all I seem able to read at the moment.

    Reply

  6. Tony
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 10:49:50

    Having just finished Music & Literature 6, I’m very keen to try something by Ugrešić. Hope you enjoy it🙂

    Reply

  7. biblioglobal
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 17:38:09

    I really enjoyed The Mountain by Drusilla Modjeska, set in Papua New Guinea. I also want to read The Crocodile by Vincent Eri, which I believe was the first novel published by a native Papua New Guinean.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
