A little life anniversary gift 8 years and counting

IMG_20150805_074341

Yesterday saw Amanda and I eighth wedding  anniversary , so as I am very hard to buy for (other than books that is even then I want to know ),I choose a book for my gift from my beloved wife  . I do sometimes get tempt by a bit of book hype and this book for me has been in my twitter feed most of the year and a few of the people saying they like it like Katya Taylor  who’s opinion matters to me .A little life is the second novel by Hanya Yanagihara her first people in the tree was one I saw mentioned ,a lot a couple of years ago when it came out , as it had taken her twenty years to write .But in the 18 months after that she managed to write this 760 page epic , it’s almost like once the floodgate had open she couldn’t stop .A little life is a story of four friends growing up all with arty jobs after college , it follows the end of the college lives and the decades that follow  one of the four friends Jude has a dark secret in his past it seems . The book has already made the booker longlist .Not sure when I will get to it if it makes booker shortlist I think I will get to it soon ,as I hear it is a real page turner once you get into it .

Have you read it yet ?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dagny
    Aug 05, 2015 @ 18:56:23

    Happy belated anniversary to you both.

    Reply

  2. poppypeacockpens
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 07:20:20

    Like you tempted by good reviews & thoughts from bloggers & twitter I’m coming to trust, I downloaded it on kindle for #WITMonth … but do detect I need to be in the right mood to ‘cope’ – seems to have reduced many to tears😢

    Reply

  3. BookerTalk
    Aug 07, 2015 @ 08:12:21

    I’ve not read it yet but it’s sitting on my Kindle waiting for my holiday in two weeks time. Hope it doesn’t create floods of tears since that could be very embarrassing if I’m sitting in a park.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
