Song for sunday three gig memories

I grew up reading the NME every week , going to as many gigs as I could afford to get too with my friends .Times have moved on gigs are few and far between these days and it is now Mojo and Uncut every month .But there is the memories of those gig years .

This was a gig back when I was still at school The Beatnigs were the second of two support bands for a tour by Billy Bragg , we knew something was to be expected as the older sister of my friend had a friend that went to an earlier gig and said to watch out for this band .A mad mix of industral music and hip hop with a large chunk of politics as you would expect with a support band for Billy Bragg .

A band I saw on a few occiasions was the Leeds band Wedding present they were darling of the Indie press .I remember seeing them tour with the George Best album which this is off .David Gedge songs were about broken lover affairs and growing up with maybe not being the best lover .

Now forward a few years and a band that I managed to see on there first national tour Idlewild , although they toned down there act after there first mini album it was this first album and the songs on it like Captain I feel in love with a brutal vocal and guitar caught a mix of Pixies and REM .

What are your gig memories ?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jonathan
    Aug 02, 2015 @ 17:30:27

    It’s funny but I was just listening to some Wedding Present yesterday and was really getting into it – I hadn’t listened to anything by them for quite a while.

    One of my favourite gigs was a Saturday midday gig by a punk band called H.D.Q. I just remember it as being so energetic. They were a favourite band of mine but didn’t get much attention. I just noticed that they must have got together again last year as they’re on YouTube with a live performance of a song called Just When I Thought.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Aug 02, 2015 @ 18:23:22

      Thanks for link today I’ve been listenin to fall as spotify told me the a sides album had just come on there so listened to that as used have it on tape

      Reply

      • Jonathan
        Aug 02, 2015 @ 18:31:11

        Yes, I had the A-sides & B-sides on vinyl. I downloaded the complete Peel Sessions from emusic a while ago but still haven’t got round to listening to it all.

      • winstonsdad
        Aug 02, 2015 @ 18:32:12

        I had the peel on cds much same never listened all way through

Leave a Reply

August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
