A year on winstons legacy

IMG_1190

Well today sees a year since I lost my dear boy , my beloved hound Winston , hence this blogs name  winstonsdad . I could have change the name over the last year I have change a few things title colour and from today a new tagline but the name is here to stay forever as is this blog I won’t ever stop blogging about books in translation  . I have had a tough twelve months blogging wise but I feel this last two months I have started to get back  into a routine which is something I had lost for about a year .But I feeel that was maybe the six year itch of the blogging world and has passed  .I do post a lot but to me I had let the standard of this blog slip and not been an active blogger even twitter has become quieter place for me . But I am trying to get back to a few years ago .So people still even a year on know who winston was he was a big part of my world in bring you all the world of books .Thanks to all those that helped with the go fund I did as well .It touched me to see so many folks care .

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jul 30, 2015 @ 16:24:19

    Can’t believe it’s a year, Stu – time flies. Glad to hear you’ll be staying with us – you always point me to good books I’ve not heard of!🙂

    Reply

  2. Malcolm
    Jul 30, 2015 @ 16:45:13

    Keep up the great work, Stu

    Reply

  3. MarinaSofia
    Jul 30, 2015 @ 17:15:23

    It has been a tough year for you, but am glad to hear things are looking up now. Wishing you many more reviews and wonderful books to discover!

    Reply

  4. Olga
    Jul 30, 2015 @ 17:53:48

    Your blog is a treasure trove of inspiring reading ideas and your reviews are the most unusual and expressive. Your enthusiasm about translated fiction is igniting, and I admire your kindness and attentiveness to your readers, fellow bloggers and followers. Wishing you all the best!

    Reply

  5. whisperinggums
    Jul 30, 2015 @ 23:52:33

    A year already? Amazing how time passes. Glad to hear you are getting your mojo back Stu. We all have ups and downs, and the thing is blogging is very forgiving. It’s a space that we can control how much or how little we do. We don’t have many of those in our lives.

    Reply

  6. Violet
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 03:13:35

    When I see Winston’s picture, I’m reminded of Byron’s poem about his dog Boatswain:

    ‘… one
    who possessed Beauty without Vanity,
    Strength without Insolence,
    Courage without Ferocity,
    and all the virtues of Man without his Vices.’

    I’m glad you’re feeling like blogging again. I’m having a little resurgence myself.

    Reply

  7. JacquiWine
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 07:23:39

    I’m sorry it’s been such a difficult year for you, Stu, but glad to hear you are starting to get back into the swing of things. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed July’s Spanish Lit Month, so thank you for co-hosting it with Richard.

    Reply

  8. BookerTalk
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 07:49:04

    I’m glad you decided to stick with the name, it’s such a lovely memorial to Winston in a way.

    Reply

  9. Max Cairnduff
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 10:02:40

    It’s terrible that you lost him Stu, but marvellous that you had the time with him you did, and that he had a loving home.

    Otherwise, keep up the good work with translated fiction!

    Reply

  10. Tony
    Aug 01, 2015 @ 01:17:41

    Hope you’ve found some new energy to keep on plugging away🙂

    Reply

  11. suzigun
    Aug 02, 2015 @ 14:08:46

    Hard to believe it’s a year, glad to hear that you’re feeling more positive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
