Winstons books the sunday bumper version

20150628_181814

Well its warm hence I’m in my shorts as I take pictures of some recent arrivals at winstons tower . First as I have read it again is the Murakami biography what I talk about when I talk about running , which I have read but never owned so a cheap harback was a must buy this week and I have read this again that evening .Next up Angre Gide after reviewing the Vatican cellars last year I decide to buy any by him I see so Le symphonie pastorale I brought (although I may have it already not check shelf of old penguins yet .Then there is the classic the romance of the rose a 13th century french classic .Patrick Hamilton was a book I had seen a few times in the oxfam and finally decided to give it a new home also he captured the dark side of the war years at home .Lastly is Peter Hoeg short story collection tales of the night one for my top secret project for 2016 .

20150628_181853

Next in is the best known novel by the Italian writer Antonio Tabucchi Pereira Maintains , which is set in 1938 Portugal a country where the writer spent a lot of his life . A man arrives at a old widowers house and changes the small world around them . Part of a series of great books Canongate have brought out in a new series called the canons .

20150628_181842

Last is the Dedalus collection of Slovak literature , they say it is the most important selection of Slovak fiction to come out in english >Well I haven’t cover a Slovak book so this collection that has writers from20th century is surely a great diving board into this nations fiction .

What have you given a book home to recntly ?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jun 28, 2015 @ 17:57:27

    Jealous of the Patrick Hamilton – that one is very highly rated!

    Reply

  2. Dagny
    Jun 28, 2015 @ 18:02:48

    Nice haul, Stu.

    I got 7 used paperbacks, all but one were series mysteries. The lone non-fiction is Isaac’s Storm, the story of the huge hurricane that hit Galveston Island in Texas circa 1900 and the brave weatherman who tried to warn everyone.

    Reply

  3. Tony
    Jun 28, 2015 @ 23:44:09

    Just finished the Sergip Pitol book from Deep Vellum, and he talks a lot about the Tabucchi – small world😉

    Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Jun 29, 2015 @ 02:27:09

    LOL Stu, I bought a Henry Green trio at the London Review Bookshop: Nothing; Doting and Blindness. I read Nothing while I was away, and will read the other two later:0

    Reply

  5. JacquiWine
    Jun 29, 2015 @ 07:21:30

    A great selection of books, Stu. I LOVED the Patrick Hamilton when I read it last year, one of my highlights. Hope you enjoy.🙂

    Reply

  6. Claire 'Word by Word'
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 07:21:59

    A nice collection Stu, happy reading. And enjoy the warm weather! My newest editions are three books by Maryse Condé after seeing her profiled for the Man Booker International, I’ve read her short essays on childhood and now looking forward to one of the novels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
