Gender , publishing and reading fuck that lets do a year of publishing translation !!!!

512px-Janus1

Sorry to swear but  as Well as many of you will have seen there has been a lot about Females in publishing and a suggested year of publishing female and one publisher has taken up the challenge . Now for me as a male it is hard to comment on this situation , I don’t like counting what I’ve  read or feeling as thou I have to read this many x y or z books to make a quota hell no one is telling me what to read  . I’m taken back to an episode of west wing about feminism and one characters negative  reaction to positive measures for females and why should they have them  if the laws in place are worked probably they are not needed , this was a female character , a right-wing character and in some ways I the arch left winger agreed hell no one is helping me get published or offering me a step on any ladder anytime soon but then I’m just a white northern male !  . It is a hard topic for me to discuss  as a male I don’t want to come across as a caveman , I feel bad as I as a reader tend to be drawn to male voices in the books I read  , but through translation have connected with more female voices from around the world .For me the important thing in a novel  is the story and subject and for these things to push the boundaries for me as a reader whether in style , story matter or characters . I could be shot down but then I say to you go out read books from 100 plus countries and then come back to me and tell me about diversity in reading ! So I wont be doing a year of women , no just same as ever  a year of translation the same as last year the year before and the year before that for me getting more books in translation is the one true struggle even in this I feel the more get translated the more females that will be translated . So a year of publishing women too easy way to easy a year of translation now that would be daring challenging , find new countries , new voices but then as Lennon said I am a dream and maybe the only one .So like Janus I’m looking both ways and dreaming of a day when a year of translated books would seem important to people .I challenge a publisher to just do translation in 2020 for a year of vision 20/20 vision !!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. iamamro
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 15:27:45

    Language! 😜

    Reply

  2. Mytwostotinki
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 08:11:44

    It shouldn’t really matter if the author is from this or that country, has this or that gender, etc. True, there is still a lot of discrimination also in publishing against certain groups, but I don’t think a reverse discrimination is the proper way to change it. My impression is that in the last years an impressive lot of new female authors has entered the scene and the quality of their writing speaks for themselves. I will read their work because it is fun and I enjoy it – not because it is a quota requirement in order to be politically correct.

    Reply

  3. Mytwostotinki
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 08:42:58

    One more thing: I find it somehow offensive towards women to introduce a quota. Imagine such a quota is introduced for literary awards for example (as Kamila Shamsie who started this discussion seems to have in mind), we will end up in a situation where some women will allegedly get an award not because of the genuine quality of their writing but because a quota needed to be fulfilled – at least this is what many people will suspect. For me this is a quite insulting and paternalistic attitude from the side of the quota advocates. And if quota for women are applied, we will need also quota for all other groups who feel that they are discriminated. You can easily imagine how such a numerus clausus will affect authors, readers and publishers – a culture where not talent, quality or relevance are any more important criteria but for example if you fit in the quota for left-handed vegetarian trans-sexuals. (Don’t get me wrong please: I have no issue whatsoever with left-handed vegetarian trans-sexuals and will gladly read any book written by them – provided it is fulfilling some of the criteria that make it attractive for me. That it is on the quota for authors of this category is not one of the relevant criteria.)

    Reply

  4. archecotech
    Jun 17, 2015 @ 05:41:00

    I’m so glad I live in a country were engenderment isn’t a issue, it’s built right into the language. No quotas necessary they both get equal time to matter what, women are women and men are men. Femininity and masculinity are not at odds with each other but compliment one another. Women don’t want to be men and understand the reasons why. Maybe more people should learn Russian so the gender war can be ended. Sorry, saw so much of this in the states it made me sick. Why would two beautiful creatures want so very much to be the other when they are so wonderfully created to be who they are. Go figure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
