What book in translation would I give away ? Thomas Bernhard welcome to second Thomas bernhard reading week in July

20130529-164953.jpg

Well I’ve been struggling finding time to blog or even get in a routine for my blogging of late .But I feel a project and a goal of trying to get my revie pile in order or less by then ,will help this and what better than on World book day to launch a second Thomas Bernhard reading week for the first week august this year it is two years since I did the first Thomas Bernhard reading week and with the books still available in paperback and Kindle both faber Finds and Vintage reissues . Of course there is the much lauded Bernhard letters with his publisher Siegfrieed Unseld to be published in English . I am tempt to improve my german just for the 22 voll collection of his works from his German publisher . I have a number of post here about him  including five books under review and a piece from Andrej Nikoladis about his love of Bernhard .I will sort a new badge for the reading week as I’m trying to do a similar one , but for today I will use the warhol inspired one of two years ago .Which book in translation would you hive away inspired to run a second Thomas Bernhard week for me it would be his Woodcutters .I feel this one would be the best introduction to his work .

woodcutters-thomas-bernhard-paperback-cover-art

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. roughghosts
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 16:07:40

    I have slipped off my goal of reading more Bernhard this year. Another excellent introduction to his work for the Bernhard-shy I would suggest, is Gargoyles. It’s a great combination between a more conventional style of story telling moving in to the extended monologue of the prince in the second half. When is your Bernhard Reading week?

    Reply

  2. Jonathan
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 16:56:13

    I haven’t read any Bernhard but had planned to do so this year (along with more Roth & Zweig) so it would tie in with my plans very well.

    Reply

  3. Col
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 08:21:27

    My education courtesy of your blog continues! Not only have I not read Bernhard – Id never heard of him till I read this. (I clearly need to let my brain out more!). But I will rectify this in August! ( Any other suggestions on the best place to start will be gratefully received!)

    Reply

  4. Tony
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:05:00

    Not sure I’ll get to one in July (more likely for GLM in November…) – but what about Spanish-Language Literature Month?

    Reply

  5. Rise
    May 02, 2015 @ 17:18:17

    I’m sure I can find a book of his by August.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
