Taking a break

After much thought recently about what this blog is .what I need to do outside the blog in my own life where I have a job I love but gives me less than the living wage dreams going  pot .So I’ve decide to take a break from blogging .I need spend time improving my arm , getting back to work .To be honest a large part me thinks what is it all worth I wishing the  blog would lead elsewhere but maybe as the piece on
bbc by Will GomPertz about culture shows I’m not middle class and let’s face it I don’t have the right accent and passion only gets you so far so I decide to spend some time and effort on my own life and maybe one day return this could be a few days or weeks .

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hastanton
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 12:35:35

    That is so sad Stu …..I enjoy reading your blog very much . I haven’t read the Gompertz piece but don’t let the BBC/Oxbridge Mafia put you off doing something you’re good at and enjoy .

    I hope your arm is better soon and you feel like coming back to blogging after your break .

    Reply

  2. MarinaSofia
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 12:44:16

    Please come back, Stu. We all miss your knowledge and passion when you aren’t around. The reading/publishing world needs more people of all stripes and backgrounds, it can get very insular otherwise.

    Reply

  3. Janny
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 13:35:21

    Please come back after your break. I enjoy your blog very much!

    Reply

  4. iamamro
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 14:01:36

    I completely understand Stu. It seems all so pointless sometimes. I think your readers would miss you though. At least you’re doing something right. Take care, sir.

    Reply

  5. Cathy746books
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 14:15:07

    I love to read your blog but you need to do what you need to do to look after yourself.

    Reply

  6. farmlanebooks
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 15:56:44

    Who cares what class you are?! I appreciate that you may need time away from the blog – it does us all good to have a break sometimes. BUT there is no way any body should put you off blogging because you aren’t a certain demographic. I haven’t seen the item you mention, but am shocked and saddened that anything like that could make you feel unworthy. You are one of the pillars of translated literature in our community and your knowledge outshines almost everyone else around here (including me). Rest, enjoy your family, but please don’t take any notice of anyone who makes you feel inferior. They are wrong.

    Reply

  7. roughghosts
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 16:30:52

    Hi Stu. Fortunately we don’t have the same accent qualifier issues here in Canada and I am not sure any of us are middle class any more (it is a disappearing breed). I know how it is to dream of having more time and then have it handed to you with illness or injury. I have been on sick leave since the end of last June and blogging has given me some focus but I can see how it could be overwhelming, especially with the pressure to review. Please know that your blog is respected and I, for one, routinely turn to your long list of cataloged reviews.

    A break will likely help put things in perspective. Hope to see you back soon.

    Reply

  8. Diane Challenor
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 23:11:12

    Just so you know, I’m out here, following along with your blogs. I think they’re excellent. Keep doing what you do, you do it well. Best wishes!

    Reply

  9. BookerTalk
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 08:26:02

    This is sad to hear but I’m sure it’s a conclusion you haven’t reached without a lot of thought. It would be a shame if some stupid persons comments put you off. The world pf translated literature will be the poorer until you return

    Reply

  10. Caroline
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 10:13:28

    It would be a shame if you stopped. But I can get the thoughts and the wish it might go somewhere else. Struggling with wages etc. It’s all so very hard.

    Reply

  11. whisperinggums
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 00:12:14

    Understand completely about the break. I’ve been blogging a little less frequently lately I’ve noticed. But, your comment re accent is bothering. You have so much knowledge and, more, perceptiveness about your topic that that should be the important thing.

    Anyhow, I hope we see you around other media and perhaps you’ll be back here again later. My daughter recently took a year’s break from blogging after blogging for five years. She has just returned but two only 1-2 posts a week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
