Not letting black dog win without my big white dog

Damm I did it again I have been stuck at home for the last six weeks and feel this maybe has brought on a bit of depression I have had it in the past .Once took meds for it and had counselling as well .I should know the signs better but like the post hour ago shows sometimes I just need a reminder that with out the big white boy to walk I need to check my blog posts .Winston was the main thing that kept my head straight and like today I just get a little fed up six weeks doing very little or not going far has messed up my blogging routine my reading and most of all given me too much time to think . I said when my boy passed I would keep going and that I must do .So thanks for kind comments on earlier post and Twitter .

image

So as he would maybe have been looking at me and saying what you doing dad . Viva la translation !!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. iamamro
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 13:59:47

    Best to you, Stu. We all loved Winston, I can’t imagine what it was like for you. Keep buggering on xx

    Reply

  2. Richard
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 14:56:47

    Stu, I hope you feel better soon. In the meantime, I love how the photo of Winston above makes it unclear whether he was posing for the photo, just ready for a walk, or was actually guarding all those books in the background. A real multi-tasker! Take care, my friend.

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 14:58:55

    Do keep on blogging, Stu – you always introduce me to books I haven’t heard about anywhere else. You must be missing Winston, I’m sure, but time will heal. He would want you to carry on – after all, the blog carries his name so we’ll all remember him!🙂

    Reply

  4. roughghosts
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 16:43:48

    Good to hear that the darkness is lifting. You probably needed to throw it all out there. Nothing can shrink your sense of self-esteem like a black spell. I am dealing with this constantly. I understand.

    Reply

  5. farmlanebooks
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 17:54:08

    Yay! Glad to hear you’re feeling a bit better.

    Reply

  6. heavenali
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 19:06:27

    Hope you continue to get better. That is a lovely picture of Winston.

    Reply

  7. Jonathan
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 19:11:01

    I’ve got, what I call, ‘The Saturday Blues’ – it’s the first day of the weekend and I’m not interested or enthusiastic about anything…even reading’s a chore..it’s that bad! It usually clears by Sunday, but I can imagine if the feeling lasts for any length of time then it can be draining, especially if you’re ill.

    Do you know when you can get back to work?

    Reply

  8. MarinaSofia
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 19:39:42

    Oh, bless that little face – he looks so protective and trusting!
    Glad to hear you’re not giving up, Stu – I wasn’t just being polite, you really are an inspiration to us lovers of world literature.

    Reply

  9. Lisa Hill
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 03:19:08

    *Phew!* I’m glad I read this post before the other one, I feel sick at the thought of losing your voice on the web.
    You know that this week when Tara from BookSexy was interviewed about her blog and translations she mentioned you as one of her favourites in a network of bloggers? See http://alt-current.blogspot.com.au/2015/03/theinductor4.html?m=1 – this is transatlantic fame and *LOL no pressure, no pressure* we cannot do without you. And nobody gives a hoot about what class you are, it’s your thoughts and ideas we enjoy:)
    Depression, of course, is a serious illness, and I believe you have rightly connected getting that regular outdoor exercise with Winston with feeling well, but if you haven’t already mentioned it to the doc treating your arm perhaps you might do so to get some extra help to get you over the hump.
    BTW have you ever told us the story of how you came to get Winston in the first place?
    PS Shall we leave doing #IFFP25 till some other time, just to ease up a bit?

    Reply

  10. BookerTalk
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 08:30:08

    I love the idea that Winston is looking after you still. People make fun of depression sadly but it’s debilitating when it happens. Hope the black dog recedes a little for you Stu.

    Reply

  11. Caroline
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 10:10:43

    I’m so sorry to hear you’re struggling. I hope you will feel better soon. What a lovely picture of Winston.

    Reply

  12. Jody
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 16:01:53

    I can definitely relate to this.

    I`ve gone thru a long series of deaths recently of very significant loved ones and the loss of one of my sweet dogs and know that some days you just can`t find the inner energy to cope.

    But, somehow we limp on….probably assisted by those dear ones on the other side looking out for us.

    Take care and time to heal…I`ll be thinking of you.

    Reply

  13. Parrish Lantern
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 14:42:49

    Funnily enough I started my Blog because of an injury & the boredom that ensued. This last year or so I’ve struggled to find the time due to commitments & was stressing, then after a break I remembered this is supposed to be fun, so now I’ve scaled back everything I do & only blog when I want to without any constraints on when or how much. works for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
