Welcome to Eastern European Lit month

 

 

Well I’m a day late but earlier in the year I said I waned to do an Eastern European month .Thus reading books from what made up the soviet bloc behind the iron curtain before it fell . I have long enjoyed the literature from this region . From Ismail Kadare , Witold Gombrowicz to new voices like Andrej Nikoladis .The region also has three of my favourite publishers .

Istros books – publishing the best in Balkan fiction . I have reviewed a number of their books and every one has been a gem . Suggest book – The son by Andrej Nikoladis

the son Andrej Nikolaidis

Twisted spoon – They mainly do Czech fiction modern and classic but have done a few from elsewhere in Eastern Europe . Suggested book Of kids and parents by Emil Hakl .

of kids and parents

of kids and parents

Stork press – bring great voice from poland but also a great look at the uk through Polish eyes . Suggested book Madame Mephisto by A M Bakalar .

So a few suggestions .This just a small try out year , obviously with recent events I fell behind in planning but have a few books read for the month and look forward to every ones choices this month ,

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: March Madness Is Here | My Book Strings
  2. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 14:43:52

    Lovely! I will try and get involved Stu – I have at least 1 Twisted Spoon book on my pile!

    Reply

  3. Jody
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 15:27:49

    I have been looking forward to exploring this genre.

    My list :

    `Cafe Europa` by Slavenka Drakulic – Croatia – (on recommendation from one of your previous posts )

    `Poems` by Wistawa Szymborska – Poland – Winner of the 1996 Nobel Prize for Literature.

    `We the Living` by Ayn Rand – USSR

    `A Captive Mind` by Czeslaw Milosz- Poland – ( a re-read for me, first read in 1990`s )

    `Vilnius Poker` by Ricardas Gavelis – Lithuania

    Thank-you for recommending Istros Books.

    They have an interesting collection, just ordered `Miruna, a Tale ` by Bogdan Suceava – Romania.

    Thank-you for sponsoring this project !

    Reply

  4. farmlanebooks
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 19:09:44

    Today I bought a copy of Journey by Moonlight by Antal Szerb so I now have two books to read for your month. I look forward to seeing what everyone else reads. Thank you for organising it!

    Reply

  5. BookerTalk
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 23:12:02

    Drat, if I’d waited a week I could have claimed Satantango for Hungary. Now my reading for the next few months is going to be Australian

    Reply

  6. Col
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 23:54:31

    I’ve been looking for an excuse/reason to finally read Joanna Jodelka’s Polychrome. This is the nudge I needed!

    Reply

  7. MarinaSofia
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 09:08:14

    I too want to read Jodelka, Col, but thought I wouldn’t have the time. However, I finished the Moldavian book by Lorchenkov in just a few hours yesterday, so I may have time to squeeze in another (I’m also planning to read Tales of Genji this month, hence the hesitation).

    Reply

  8. Mel u
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 10:49:49

    I just finished today a really good novella by Boleslaw Prus, Poland 1847 to 1912 about a factory. I will post on it and link to your great event very soon.

    Reply

  9. Mytwostotinki
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 11:24:42

    I plan to review: Virginia Zaharieva: 9 Rabbits; Zachary Karabashliev: 18% Gray; Alexander Shpatov: #LivefromSofia; Viktor Pelevin: Omon Ra; Ismail Kadare: The Fall of the Stone City; and maybe a few more if I can manage…

    Reply

  10. Trackback: East European Literature Month: The Good Life Elsewhere | findingtimetowrite
  11. Trackback: Peirene Press Series 5: Coming of Age | Lizzy's Literary Life
  12. Mel u
    Mar 05, 2015 @ 10:37:09

    I posted on “The Returning Wave”, a short story by Boleslaw Prus. There is a link in my post where you can download this story and other older Polish short stories.

    Reply

  13. Emma
    Mar 06, 2015 @ 19:23:45

    Count me in, Stu. I have two upcoming billets about two Hungarian books.

    Reply

  14. Caroline
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 10:16:32

    I’m sorry I’m so late. I’ve lost track of time. I hope to read Kundera and maybe Of Kids and Parents.

    Reply

  15. Jonathan
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 19:27:12

    I’m hoping to start over the next few days. I thought this would be a great excuse to re-read some books that I read years ago: I’ve lined up ‘The Bridge on the River Drina’ by Ivo Andric & ‘The Joke’ by Milan Kundera.

    Reply

  16. yodcha
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 06:02:24

    I just posted on two interesting 21th century Hungarian short stories, both focusing on the narrator’s relationship to his mother.

    http://rereadinglives.blogspot.com/2015/03/two-twenty-first-century-hungarian.html

    Reply

  17. Trackback: 18% Gray | Mytwostotinki.com
  18. Trackback: Many a true word is said in jest | Book Around The Corner
  19. Trackback: ‘The Joke’ by Milan Kundera | Intermittencies of the Mind
  20. Jonathan
    Mar 15, 2015 @ 20:28:09

    I’ve posted a review of Milan Kundera’s first novel, The Joke.

    Reply

  21. Trackback: Emil Hakl: Of Kids and Parents – O rodičích a dětech (2002) | Beauty is a Sleeping Cat
  22. cocoaugustina
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 14:02:53

    You have no idea how excited I am that you are doing this for March. Cheers!

    Reply

  23. Trackback: Recently Read: Three Quirky Women in Fiction | findingtimetowrite
  24. yodcha
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 09:01:05

    There are two excellent collections of older public domain translations of Polish short stories, including the novel,I just read The Outpost by Boleslaw Prus, at Manybooks.net

    Reply

  25. Trackback: ‘The Bridge Over the Drina’ by Ivo Andrić | Intermittencies of the Mind
  26. Lisa Hill
    Mar 29, 2015 @ 22:31:58

    My apologies for missing this Stu, what with IFFP25 and a bit of turmoil on the home front (Aged Parents Interstate, cyclonic new puppy), I just didn’t get to it. I’ll do better next year.

    Reply

  27. Trackback: Nine Rabbits | Mytwostotinki.com
  28. Trackback: Peirene Press Collection 5: Coming of Age | TiaMart Blog
  29. Trackback: Books of the Year 2015 | findingtimetowrite

Leave a Reply

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
