The books I got the day I slipped

 

image

Now I was actually in town on Saturday to take my books back to library and fetch some more which I just fetch out of the bag today maybe last library books for a couple months from town so what did I fetch starting with the Bolano after returning By night in Chile I couldn’t resist another so choose a short story collection .There is a couple of his stories I’ve listen to in the New Yorker fiction series and I really have enjoyed them so decide to try this collection .The book of fathers by Miklos Vamos caught my eye as it was a historic novel with folk tale and parable roll into an epic sounded great and I love a new writer to me .The anarchist banker is a collection of stories for Portugal which for me is the one country in Europe where the blog is very weak for its size . Then the third Valerio Varesi novel in the Commissaro Soneri series I have the second book on my shelves and reviewed the first a few years ago and want to catch up with this series .

image

Also here today is White Hunger by Aki Ollikainen a tale of famine and a farmers wife that sets off for food in far north of Finland .Lucky four of these five books are quite slim so cam be held in one hand as I’m having to read and type this post on hand may just be book post not review for a week or so tile adjust to cast on arm and typing .
What books you had received or got recently ?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarinaSofia
    Feb 05, 2015 @ 12:24:08

    Hope you’re better by the way – but at least you have some great books to keep you busy!

    Reply

  2. iamamro
    Feb 05, 2015 @ 13:00:10

    Get well soon, Stu. I hope Amanda is too annoyed with you!

    Reply

  3. Bellezza
    Feb 05, 2015 @ 22:04:13

    Why am I not surprised that something by Roberto Bolano ended up causing pain? Kidding…mostly. xo

    Reply

  4. Claire 'Word by Word'
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 09:10:13

    Take care and stick to reading for a while!

    Reply

  5. Scott W.
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 14:24:43

    The other member of our home is dealing with a significant left arm injury that also occurred on Saturday (perhaps at the same moment as yours, though this was a leap off a bicycle to engage in a losing fistfight with some pavement). Believe me when I wish you a speedy recovery. What a royal – and genuine – pain! Glad to hear you’re well stocked in good reading while on the mend. No new books here yet – the Marx Brothers’ Duck Soup has been about all we’ve been able to handle at the moment.

    Reply

  6. BookerTalk
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 11:13:18

    it seems your book choices for the next few weeks will be governed not by the author or the story but the weight of the book itself.

    Reply

  7. farmlanebooks
    Feb 08, 2015 @ 12:46:15

    I’ve got The Book of Fathers waiting on my shelf – I look forward to comparing notes with you. Hope you’re feeling better now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
