Shadow DSC prize winner

 

Well we have managed to read between Lisa ,Tara and myself to read all the shortlist and in the end had read forurteen books between us at least two or us had read the shortlised books.Not bad as we decide only just before christmas to do a shadow jury .Next year we will be more on the ball .

 

Shortlisted Authors:

  • Bilal Tanweer: The Scatter Here is Too Great (Vintage Books/Random House, India)
  • Jhumpa Lahiri: The Lowland (Vintage Books/Random House, India)
  • Kamila Shamsie: A God in Every Stone (Bloomsbury, India)    
  • Romesh Gunesekera: Noontide Toll (Hamish Hamilton/Penguin, India)       
  • Shamsur Rahman Faruqi: The Mirror of Beauty (Penguin Books, India)

So we weight up the list which for me was very strong a couple of writers quite well known , one truly epic novel , one new name to me at least and a short story collection from a writer I really like .So i just managed to finish the fifthn book last night and have two more to review , so thankfully the winner we choose was a book I have reviewed .

the mirror of beauty

We have chosen the Mirror of beauty for the first shadow DSC prize and it is the Epic The mirror of beauty by Shamsur Rahman Faruqi .I had this down as a favourite when the list came out as I had read the book before it came out here back in 2013 when the book had come out in Inida  here is my review .The book takes the life of the  mother of the poet Dagh , his mother Wazir Khanam life touches many in Mughal indian and we get a slice of the world at this time is this epic novel .We must also mention that it was run close in the shadow jury by Noontide toll  , we just felt this was maybe a book that lasts longer in the readers mind and soul .

have you read any books from the list ? would you like to take part next year?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Jan 20, 2015 @ 11:32:01

    Thanks for sharing this adventure with me, Stu, I loved discovering these new authors:)

    Reply

  2. The Resurgent Bookworm
    Jan 20, 2015 @ 14:04:55

    I have The Lowland waiting on my bookshelf – will hopefully get to it soon !🙂 The rest are going to my goodreads tbr now🙂

    Reply

  3. JacquiWine
    Jan 20, 2015 @ 18:39:20

    The only one I’ve read is The Lowland which I loved, a real slow burner.

    Reply

  4. farmlanebooks
    Jan 21, 2015 @ 13:34:46

    I’ve read the first three from the list, but I haven’t read your winner so I’ll have to do that – I do love epic stories🙂

    Reply

  5. Tony
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 10:47:36

    So the real panel chose the Lahiri – which isn’t a surprise. That’s what panels do😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2015
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
