Driven to read but have I passed the detours to do that !

20130422-131324.jpg

I always enjoy one of Simon at Savidge reads thoughtful posts about what it is to be a reader , like yesterdays rainy day books post .Well as ever it set me thinking and well I have been thinking for a year or two about firstly this blog and me as a reader , of course the two are connected I do choose what goes on the blog .Do i thou because this last twelve to eighteen months I have felt a bit  like a runaway lorry in my reading  habits and my blog has become the M1 (main motorway in the uk ) for books in translation .To steal an idea from Julio Cortazar with his book about traveling the main road in france , well this blog maybe has been driving to long and maybe needs to start turning into one or two rest stops , by this I mean books in english , african fiction things I used cover more when this blog first started , my biggest problem is I can’t help myself with books in translation , I just love them but after nearly two hundred straight books in translation , I’m feeling the need to break with my routine .A perfect example would be the collection of Anthony Burgess novels I was sent a couple of years ago , I was so excited to get these as I loved him when I used read anything years ago , but they kept being pushed back and my pile of books sent to read kept growing and they never got read , even now writing this post I have a large tinge of regret about that lack of reading those books .I’ve written about this before and sure I will again ,I’m very driven in what I read and maybe need to just make myself lighten up a bit ! I could try a challenge to do this but no I will try for 10% books this year not in translation this year .

What are your bad reading habits

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. roughghosts
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 08:47:42

    My worst habit is my impulsiveness and my abiding fascination with South African literature. With all the best intentions to tackle my existing TBR pile which includes a healthy amount of work in translation, I have already read two works of SA fiction (my last two unread Damon Galgut, an obsession since meeting him last year) and a work of non-fiction chronicling a young Somalian man’s journey to build a life in South Africa which just came out. Two novels ordered just before Christmas arrived in the post and, oops, a newly released book of short stories authors just landed on my e-reader last night. All these SA authors are new to me, but honestly I should be shot.

    At least I am making headway with my personal Bernhard project at the same time.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jan 15, 2015 @ 08:49:41

      I think all is bloggers have huge tbr piles lol I’m slowly getting through bernhard on the blog as well must have been great meeting galgut

      Reply

      • roughghosts
        Jan 15, 2015 @ 08:58:30

        All avid readers are likely the same. We not only love to read, we read about books, talk about books, probably dream about books… There are worse addictions I think.

  2. Maryom
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 09:33:31

    I’m not sure if mine is a bad reading habit or if I’m just a compulsive hoarder. We joined our local Freecycle/freegle group to give old but still usable things away instead of dumping them at the tip – turns out some people feel that way about books. Picking up a copy of Nigella Express was fine, but then I acquired a huge stash of crime fiction – about 70 books – and, more recently, 4 big boxes of sci-fi! Some of them are by authors I don’t like, so back out on Freecycle with them, but there are still maybe 150 books waiting for me……. As always my New Year’s resolutions included whittling this pile down…a bit…

    Reply

  3. heatherdpear
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 15:38:32

    my bad habit is joining reading challenges. That forces me to read some one else’s choice of books by a given deadline instead of the book that strikes my fancy at that moment. I then feel regretful while reading instead of fully engaging and enjoying the book. This year I want to include books about Spain and by spanish writers. I don’t know much about that country and want to learn. .I won’t focus all my books there, but would like to read one a month at least but won’t punish myself if I don’t.
    Balance is want I am trying to introduce. At the same time, I want to read through the books by Canadian author Charles de Lint but am having a hard time starting. Too many other books lying around the house, every where. arg.

    Please do work the Anthony Burgess books into to your reading as I want to read your reviews. I’m certainly okay with you mixing none translation books in with others. now worries there.

    Reply

  4. Travellin' Penguin (Pam)
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 23:42:39

    My bad habit is I read all the blogs and don’t actually get to my book! So this year I only read the first 6 to 8 recently published on my blog roll first thing in the morning. Once I have read those I start reading my own book I’m working on. I think I was reading blogs as a procrastination tactic. But on the bright side they do keep me motivated to try new books and things I normally wouldn’t pick up. Like one of the comments above there are worst habits.

    Reply

  5. shanadubois
    Jan 18, 2015 @ 05:40:15

    I think it is awesome you are going to take a detour or two and allow yourself some leisurely time with some books that have been waiting. My personal bad habit is that I buy books faster than I can read them. So, my pile of books waiting to be read continues to grow and expand exponentially.

    Reply

  6. Lisa Hill
    Jan 19, 2015 @ 04:22:04

    Because my blog focusses on Australian and New Zealand literary fiction, occasionally I feel guilty that I’ve been reading too many books from other countries, and not enough of ours. But I don’t feel that I should read *only* Australian and New Zealand because I believe that my reviews have more credibility if I read widely from all over the place as well, so that I can compare our books with books from the rest of the world.
    At the end of the day, though, I read and blog for pleasure, so the test is ‘do I enjoy what I’m reading?’ So I would say that if you want to read books that don’t quite ‘fit’ with the aim of your blog, too bad, read and review ’em anyway – I know that I would enjoy reading your reviews even if they weren’t always about translated fiction because I like your insights.

    Reply

  7. Claire 'Word by Word'
    Jan 19, 2015 @ 20:32:29

    I love writing about books and I love reading across cultures but more than anything I value my freedom to choose and to change my mind and be spontaneous and its one of the reasons I don’t do challenges, as soon as I sense obligation, I start to lose that sense of freedom reading brings me.

    I love to make a plan and I love just as much to abandon it and let something that was gathering dust rise to the top because a fellow blogger just mentioned it and made me think, oh I have that and now I really want to read it now, it allows me to get excited about books that I’d forgotten about and there is no better time to read them than when anticipation is as its highest or someone else suggests to readalong at the same time.

    That’s why I just read the first series of the Peirene Press books Stu, because you told us in November that it was 5 years since they published them and that you might reread them In January. You inspired me to get them and do just that!

    You do such a great service to books in translation, however you should also indulge your own whims now and then, just for the pleasure of it! You deserve it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2015
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
