Winstons first secondhand book buys of 2015

Well a change today from  my  usual book choices sees me only buying just  one translated book today , that said it gets hard to find books I’ve not read in the local charity shops as most books in translation that tend to be given are the popular ones that I’ve read or haven’t an interested in reading any way to the first three books of 2015 .So whilst waiting to meet Amanda after work in town I did managed to get round all the shops in town .

20150103_170517

 

First there  was these  two books from Oxfam’s sale .At swim two birds by Flann O’Brein ,I am going try and buy a number more books from Ireland for a project later this year or even next to bump up my books from Ireland , which is rather small and as it is the place I was born and my family comes from that is rather sad , so I’m wanting to put that right .The second book is closely observed trains by Bohumil Hrabil , I have this on dvd so want read and compare to the film .

20150103_170441

The third book was from save the children is a collected box set of a collection Finbar’s hotel and Ladies night at Finbar’s hotel , it looks like this collection came out about fifteen years ago and had a collection of the best of Irish writing at the time names such as Colm Tobin and jenifer Johnston both of which seem to be favourites of Kim over at reading matters who actually reviewed a book by Tobin today .

what are your first book buys of 2015 ?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 17:58:32

    Very nice Stu! I was presented with a copy of My Life as a Russian Novel by Emmanuel Carrere yesterday. My Youngest Child saw it in the Waterstones sale and bought it for me because she knows I love reading Russians!!!

    Reply

  2. Travellin' Penguin (Pam)
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 18:40:41

    Closely Observed Trains appeals to me. I will look forward to hearing what it is about and if you liked it.

    Reply

  3. Martha G
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 19:52:33

    Nice selection. I hope your project with the Ireland books is for the blog.
    I haven’t yet purchased any books in 2015, but today’s mail delivered In Praise of Poetry by Olga Sedakova which I purchased last year as part of my subscription with Open Letter books.

    Reply

  4. evastalker
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 22:03:13

    Oh, I loved Too Loud A Solitude by Hrabal. Must pick more of his up when I start buying books again later this year (on a break at the moment).

    Reply

  5. Lisa Hill
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 22:55:12

    LOL Stu it’s January 4th here and gosh! I haven’t bought a single book yet!
    But I have put two on my wishlist: Reef by Romesh Gunesekera (because I just read his DSC shortlisted Noontide Toll and people who commented on my review recommended Reef too) and Hungry Ghosts by Shyam Sevadurai, again because someone commented on my blog.
    You know, I don’t think I’ve ever been disappointed by a book from anywhere on the Indian subcontinent. Maybe it’s because we only get to hear about the very best of them, but they’ve all been great.

    Reply

  6. BookerTalk
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 08:47:13

    I’m not surprised its difficult to get translated work in the charity shops. It’s hard enough to buy them new. The second hand shops near me have lean pickings even though we have a university in the city.

    Reply

  7. whisperinggums
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 16:56:02

    Oh, I don’t think I’ve bought any books in January yet, but you’ll be pleased to know that my last purchase of 2015 was a translated one – Japanese, Mori Agai’s The wild goose. I just have to find time to sneak it in but I didn’t read one Japanese book last year and I do like to read them.

    I’ll be interested in your review of At swim two birds. I read it before I started blogging. I enjoyed it but what it was really about has not stuck in my head. What a weird and wonderful book it is!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2015
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
