looking back and looking forward the year that was and the year to come

512px-Janus1

 

 Picture credit 

Firstly hope everyone had a good Christmas , I did although working Amanda and I had the afternoon and evening together and although we had a tight budget I got a new reading lamp from my darling wife .I was just happy to have a nice day with my wife and eat some lovely food .So I got my annual report from WordPress , I haven’t published these I just like to see them for myself but the good point was the growth in number of post from last year ,also more comments than last year .My longest tun of post was 13 in a row .But beyond the figures , I enjoyed doing the Shadow IFFP  again and will be doing that again next year .It was a sad year with the loss of my dear boy and faithful hound  the name sake of this  blog Winston Allen .I also managed to reach to milestones of 500 reviews and a 1000 posts this year .So out with the old and in with the new  a new year is just around the corner and where is the blog going , well as ever trying to keep up with reviews to reading is a big thing so the first few months of 2015 I’m going try to slow my reading blog a bit more catch up on remainder of 2014 and get 2015 reviews going as bok read book reviewed not book read a month later I get to it as it has been the last few months .I will be adding a new page next year along side my books read , I ‘ll be doing films watched as well , I just signed up for MUBI a curated film streaming service that has a lot of films from around the world on to try to widen my film watching experience , but you will also see my love of bad movies as much as I love art house cinema ,I also have a love of the kitsch bad movies from the likes of sy fi channel or asylum films .The more surreal the idea behind the film , the better I like them .Next year will also see another IFFP shadowing , I have been trying to find a number of books I missed recently so I have as many from longlist read as possible when it comes out .I think another spanish lit month may be on the cards as well given my poor participation and running this year (due to the loss of  my boy ) .I hope to bring more interviews next year as well it is something I have dabbled with before and I wish to carry more with both writers and translators .I’m also looking to have a few more guest posts in the next year from around the world of Translated fiction .So happy new year to you all I will be back 1st January .

How was your year ?

What you looking forward too next year ?

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tony
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 10:05:00

    Hope you have a great year, Stu, and here’s to another twelve months of wonderful books from all over the world🙂

    Reply

  2. istrosblogs
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 10:14:31

    Keep up the good work Stu. Always a pleasure to read your reviews and to wonder at how you manage to read so much!

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 10:23:24

    I’ve had a great reading year, Stu, with lots of translated fiction – and I’ve no doubt that will carry on in 2015. What I’m trying not to do is get bogged down with lots of challenges!

    Reply

  4. BookerTalk
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 10:51:48

    Your level of activity is eye-watering Stu. It’s hard to keep up with you! And you do know what serious damage you do to my bank balance with all these new authors you introduce me too! I like the sound of your author and translator guest posts.

    Reply

  5. Travellin' Penguin (Pam)
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 11:57:09

    All the very best for 2015. I enjoy hearing about the books you read. I am going to read books I already own until 1 June. No new books. I have so many to read plus 2000 plus in my Penguin collection alone. Am really looking forward to seeing what I find on my own shelves. I was sorry you lost Winston. I was wondering if you think you’ll get a new little Winston in your future. Happy New Year.

    Reply

  6. heavenali
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:25:48

    My books of the year post comes out tomorrow, it’s not been a bad old year on the whole. I’m looking forward to reading The Forsyte Saga in 2015. Happy New Year!

    Reply

  7. MarinaSofia
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 13:48:48

    I know your year has been marked with sadness at the loss of Winston, but you have been exceptionally productive and always pushing us all to expand our reading horizon. I hope this coming year brings more joy and none of the sorrow.

    Reply

  8. Guy Savage
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 15:43:32

    Happy New Year Stu: I look forward to your posts as you always bring a wide range of titles to the table.

    Reply

  9. JacquiWine
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 18:23:23

    Happy New Year, Stu. I always enjoy looking through your posts and you continue to introduce me to many new authors. All the best for 2015.

    Reply

  10. parrish lantern
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 18:51:24

    Hi Stu, Have a great year & will be interested in what Films you choose to feature.

    Reply

  11. Tony Messenger
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 20:21:12

    It was a great year for translated fiction & I’m with you that the Shadow Jury for the IFFP was a highlight. I’m a bit like you too with my reviews banked up, I’m hoping to clear them in the next couple of weeks. Great reviews this year Stu & you’ve put me onto a number of great books, thank you, wishing you a wonderful 2015.

    Reply

  12. Dagny
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 21:04:24

    Happy New Year, Stu! Just looking around my room, I have an exciting reading year coming up. A few in translation too, but not nearly as many as you.

    Reply

  13. Bellezza
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 01:54:23

    Stu, you and your blog were such a big blessing for my blogging year of 2014; I speak specifically of the opportunity to be a part of the Shadow Jury for the IFFP. It is hard to find the books here in the US, I so envy the “easy” access those of you who live in the UK have to translated literature! But, I hope to participate again in 2015 should you be willing to have me tag along. So glad to hear that you and Amanda had a lovely Christmas, although it is indeed hard without our boys licking up the cookie crumbs.

    Reply

  14. sharkell
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 05:10:33

    Thank you for your blog. I made a vow at the beginning of thus year that I would read at least 12 books in translation and thanks to you I met my goal. All the best for 2015.

    Reply

  15. vicky blake
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 10:26:11

    I’m really glad I found your blog and am looking forward to reading it next year.

    Reply

  16. beckylindroos
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 17:25:09

    I had a great year – looking forward to next – I especially appreciate the Foreign Fiction Prize and your groups’ shadowing it. Thank you!

    Reply

  17. Richard
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 23:20:26

    I look forward to another year of following your blog, Stu, so thanks for all your efforts in advance going forward. Glad to hear you’re open to another Spanish Lit Month as well b/c one or two people have already started asking about it (I, of course, wish every month were Spanish Lit Month!). Happy New Year to you, my friend!

    Reply

  18. amanda
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 00:36:02

    Happy New Year, Stu! I hope 2015 is a good one for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
