Winston’s Top 5 albums of 2014

Well still debating what is going be on my books of the year so I will start out with five albums I have loved this year a mix of the new and the reissued albums for the last twelve months that I have been listing too .

1. Benji by Sun kill moon

Well this has easily been my most listen to album I have always been a fan of mark kozelek from his early days as red house painter .But this album just sees him turn into a true confessional singer the songs are so heart breaking mainly about people he has lost in his own life or his loved ones .

2 Scott walker and sunn 0)))

Well was there ever a better combination for a album Scott walker has been getting more avant grade in his singing and music ever since he went solo , so in my mind it was only a matter of time to this happened he got in expermential rock band Sunn 0))) to do his latest album adding a meancing background to his surreal lyrics .

3 Spiderland by Slint

Now a classic album that has been reissued this year spiderland was slint ‘s second album and a classic of the fast slow fast style and has long been a favourite of mine maybe one of the best post rock albums .Good morning captain was in the film Kids years ago so many of you will maybe know it .

4 Gentlemen by Afghan Whigs

Another reissue by a singer and his first band that for me never quite became as big as they should be Greg dulli voice sits somewhere between barfly , soul singer and rock god .Maybe that is reason he is hard to pigeon-hole , so it was great to see this come out again after 21 years .

5 Way out weather by Steve Gunn

 

An album that saw a great guitarist finally step into the limelight he has played with a number of great bands in particular with Kurt Vile in recent years so his solo album was a real treat for me to listen too .

What have been your albums of the year ?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarinaSofia
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 09:40:55

    Right, now you make me feel inadequate about my listenind as well as about my reading! I haven’t heard of any of these! In fact, I think my albums of the year probably date from around 2012-2013 (only got to listen to them this year, though).

    Reply

  2. Col
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 21:43:49

    Enjoyed post and listening to the different songs. Am in agreement on Mark Kozalek and like you have been a fan since Red House Painters. Was also nice to see Afghan Whigs a band I championed to friends ( albeit unsuccessfully!). Id not heard Steve Gunn begore so that was new to me and will check that out. Among the albums I’ve loved this year were the new album by Spoon, the album by Warpaint, Elbow’s Take Off and Landing Of Everything and I think Hamilton Leithausers album is a real surprise – and great!

    Reply

  3. Anokatony
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 23:32:28

    Have you discovered Jason Isbell and in particular the album Southeastern ? That is definitely my album of the year, and I think you might like it too.

    Reply

  4. parrish lantern
    Dec 24, 2014 @ 15:40:59

    Love Scott Walker & Bish Bosch, also Central Market by Tyondai Braxton. Have been rediscovering Autechre particularly Exai also love Tamikrest’s album Chatma. I’ve also got a new Xmas fav’ “you’re a mean one Mr Grinch ” by the Van Orsdels. Have a great Xmas

    Reply

  5. Jonathan
    Dec 25, 2014 @ 19:52:32

    Thanks for introducing me to Steve Gunn. Some of my favourite albums have been J Mascis’s Tied to a Star, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy’s Singer’s Grave a Sea of Tongues, War on Drugs’ Lost in the Dream – I think they’re all from 2014 anyway…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
