Winstons books Translated Non-fiction

Well only two books arrived this week , that said I only read two books myself this week , had a busy week and a bit of a cold has led me not to read as much as usual .

IMG_1977

The first book to arrive was from istros book , Susan asked me if I’d like to try their latest a non fiction work by the leading intellectual and political voice in Albanian life Fatos Lubonja , the book follows the fall of the communist system with in Albania and the chaos of corruption pyramid schemes that followed it .This is also a reminder that I should add a few more Translated works of NON fiction to this blog , my big hope is that someone will translate Thomas Bernhard’s letters to his publisher from German this is one book I would love to read .

IMG_1978

The other book is the finished hardback edition of the new book by Cees nooteboom letter to Poseidon , I can’t wait to share this with you Cees is fast becoming one of my all time favourite writers and also I feel he should be a Nobel winner one day soon ,especially after Modiano won he is very much like him memories mean a lot to Cees .

What books did you have arrive this week ?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Oct 18, 2014 @ 20:52:57

    Lovely books Stu – I have had Bartleby by Melville and Where There’s Love, There’s Hate by Casares and Ocampo arrive – looking forward to both!

    Reply

  2. hastanton
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 06:53:17

    Ooo I really like the sound of the Lubonja ….I have visited Albania a a few times and am fascinated by its recent history . I am still reading ( and loving) the Sansal whic I bought on your recommendation !

    Reply

  3. jacquiwine
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 07:07:25

    Looking forward to hearing more about Letters to Poseidon. I haven’t read anything by Nooteboom, but I know you rate him very highly.

    Reply

  4. farmlanebooks
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 12:02:38

    You’re right about translated non-fiction – I don’t think I’ve ever read any. I really should try to find some to read. Enjoy yours!

    Reply

  5. Mytwostotinki
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 16:12:44

    Hi Stu, believe it or not: no new books this week! I need to reduce my TBR pile a bit. By the way, Seagull Books, this extraordinary Indian publisher bought the translation rights for the Bernhard-Unseld correspondence and should come up with it very soon. Seagull has probably one of the best selections of German literature of all English-language publishers. I will be curious to read the Lubonja book any time soon (lived in Albania for three years and am residing in Kosovo since 2, so I take a great interest in anything available).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
