Nobel Literature Prize 2014 Patrick modiano

The Search Warrant (eBook)

Another year waiting in front of the youtube channel for the live cast of the Nobel literature prize winner 2014 waiting for a rather splendid pair of wooden doors to open and for the world to be let in on this years winner and the winner this year  is Patrick modiano   here is an interview with the winner from France today ,I also reviewed his book The search warrant the other day , which for me is a perfect example of what they said in the announcement about memory as it is about his own family and Dora Bruder’s memories mixed together .

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mytwostotinki
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 11:37:33

    So far I read only one book by Modiano, Une Jeunesse, an autobiographical novel, which I enjoyed a lot. (Read it in the German translation by Peter Handke)
    Not a bad choice of the Nobel Committee I suppose.

    Reply

  2. MarinaSofia
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 11:57:16

    I was just going through some of his books at the library yesterday. I was favouring Murakami and Kadare, to be honest, but am not unhappy with this choice. Not very much translated into English though…

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 12:26:11

    I like the sound of the Search Warrant a lot Stu!

    Reply

  4. hastanton
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 13:52:36

    Well, as you know , I wanted it to be Ngugi BUT I am not unhappy with this choice . I have read quite a few of his books but in French ….as you say , I am sure more will be translated now . Bravo to Patrick !

    Reply

  5. Vishy
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 15:17:21

    Isn’t this awesome🙂 I read Patrick Modiano’s ‘Missing Person’ last year and loved it. I was hoping to read more by him, but never dreamed that he would win the Nobel. So happy, happy, happy🙂 Thanks for the news, Stu! It made my day!

    Reply

  6. roughghosts
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 17:39:18

    I remember your recent review but otherwise this author is unknown to me. I do love it when the Nobel recognizes someone who deserves a broader recognition. Here in Canada when Alice Munro won we were ecstatic and, although she was known and respected, the win really put her out there even for her own fellow Canadians who might not have read her beyond a mandatory story in school.

    I look forward to being able to get to know this year’s winner.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: 2014 Barbara Jefferis shortlist | ANZ LitLovers LitBlog
  8. jacquiwine
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 17:07:18

    I haven’t read Patrick Modiano, but it’s great to see positive comments from those who have read him in French (or in German translations). Let’s hope the Nobel leads to further translations of his work.

    Reply

  9. Judith
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 22:42:26

    Oh, Stu, you can’t imagine how we’re all hoping that the Nobel Prize means that more of Modiano’s work will be translated very soon and published here. But I will seek out what is available, and remind myself that I can read French–it’s the only foreign language I can really read. With German, I’m so glued to a dictionary and puzzled besides.
    Judith

    Reply

  10. yodchael
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 01:41:37

    I check amazon and a kindle edition of three of his novellas will come out soon. I am looking forward to reading him.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Honeymoon | 1streading's Blog

Leave a Reply

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
