German lit month here again …

Well it’s that time of year when I start keeping my eye out and looking through the recent buys from the last twelve months to find some books for Lizzie’s and Caroline’s  German lit month ,well after it was announced earlier this week my first trip was to the Library to see if they had any Joseph Roth week is the theme for the last week ,I have only read him once before and missed out on getting the recent Granta reissues  from the other year but luckily for me my library had a couple .

IMG_1944 (1)

So I have two great books to read for that week both sound great I had a different copy of job out of library a few years ago but never got chance to get to it so now is the chance ,I also fount this gem

IMG_1945 (1)

An old Gunter Grass novel Local Anaesthetic ,a story of an idealstic teacher ,another section of German lit month is to read a prize winner and Gunter won the Nobel prize in 1999 ,I also remember I have the box but need to get hold of the peeling the onion to read his memoir in order .

Well that is it for now I have a number of other books a couple of surprises among them ,have you any plans ?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Sep 26, 2014 @ 19:51:54

    I shan’t commit to this Stu because I always fail if I commit! But I may well casually decide to read some German authors through the month!!

    Reply

  2. Tony
    Sep 26, 2014 @ 23:09:57

    I suspect I may read one or two (or ten!)…

    Reply

  3. The Resurgent Bookworm
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 02:41:59

    I haven’t read any German lit and would love to do so …. I have The Tin Drum by Grass in my wishlist so hopefully soon but sadly not this month😦

    Reply

  4. Caroline
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 06:39:16

    I’m glad you found two of Roth’s best novels.
    Local Anaesthetic is said to be very good too.

    Reply

  5. MarinaSofia
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 08:40:04

    I’m using this as an excuse to finally get through some of my books on the bookshelves: I’ve got a collection of stories by Bernhard Schlink, Zweig’s Meisternovellen, Durrenmatt’s Der Verdacht and Richard Weihe’s Sea of Ink.

    Reply

  6. Mytwostotinki
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 14:39:46

    Excellent, Stu. You won’t be disappointed by the two Roth books I guess. I reviewed Job recently on my blog. Will also participate but haven’t made up my mind yet regarding the books I will read.

    Reply

  7. BookerTalk
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 16:52:54

    I just checked my shelves and don’t have anything German at all. I think I’ll skip it this year in that case so I don’t end up buying yet more books or borrowing them and having to return before they are even opened.

    Reply

  8. Jonathan
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 17:53:12

    I keep meaning to read more Joseph Roth. ‘The Legend of the Holy Drinker’ is excellent – have you seen the film?

    Reply

  9. Bellezza
    Sep 28, 2014 @ 00:10:42

    I will follow suit to see if our library has any Roth books, don’t hold your breath – and I won’t either. In the meantime, I am planning on reading Letters to an Unknown Woman by Stefan Zweig which Pishkin Press sent me a few months ago.

    Reply

  10. jacquiwine
    Sep 28, 2014 @ 08:53:22

    Like Marina, I’m keen to join this year and hope to use it as an opportunity to read two or three books from my shelves. Looking forward to it.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Sunday Salon: Sitting With A Simple Scone… | Dolce Bellezza

Leave a Reply

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
