Winstons books – A bumper week

Well last week no books arrived for me ,but this week I have had five arrive .

IMG_1918

First up from And other stories By the mountains burn by Juan Tomas Avila Laurel ,a writer from Equatorial Guinea (A first for this blog ,the only spanish speaking country ) a childhood on a remote island of the west african coast ,cholera ,superstitions and fire destroy crops sounds great .Then The alphabet of birds by S J Naude one of the best Afrikaans writers a collection of short stories with recurring motifs ,from London via Milan to Johannesburg .

IMG_1917

Now to a writer I have reviewed before Philippe Claudel his new book is a memoir formed up of Smells so each chapter is a smell and what it means or meant to him .I really like the idea of a smell memoir a quick flick and cigar is one ,I have this a smell with my father when younger .from MacLehose press

IMG_1916

Next up are two novels from German the first in the shadow is a price to pay by Alex Capus a Swiss- French writer that writes in German (only via books in translation do you find story’s like that a franco swiss writer in German !!!) the story is of three characters whose paths cross in 1924 on a station in Zürich this leads them in different directions all after this chance meeting .The other is The glory of life by Michael Kumpfmuller ,the story of the last year of Kafka’s  life caught in the relationship he had with Dora a young women he meet whilst recovering by the Baltic sea .both from Haus publishing

What books have you got this week ?

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Guy Savage
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 17:09:17

    Most of the books I get are e-versions, Stu. I read a book about Kafka (fiction) which focused on the women in his life. I enjoyed it very much. I knew he died of TB but I had no idea it was laryngeal tuberculosis. Poor bugger. What a horrible way to go.

    Reply

  2. MarinaSofia
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 17:50:07

    I think Alex Capus actually moved back to Switzerland with his Mum when he was quite a small child and grew up in the German-speaking region, so it’s perhaps not so surprising that he writes in German. But it is interesting how many writers in Switzerland do write in more than one language -perhaps because they were saying that it is getting harder to get translated into the other national languages of their home country.

    Reply

  3. jacquiwine
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 06:56:56

    Philippe Claudel’s memoir (centered on smells/perfumes) sounds great. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it.

    Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 09:07:05

    Well, I got my copy of The Rabbit Back Literature Society which you persuaded me to buy with your review!

    Reply

  5. BookerTalk
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 09:13:48

    Smells must be one of the hardest things to write about so I’m curious about a whole book based on that..

    Reply

  6. Annabel (gaskella)
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 16:56:07

    I’m reading Parfums at the moment – it’s a very different kind of memoir. Enjoying it a lot.

    Reply

  7. biblioglobal
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 23:05:08

    I’m planning to read By Night the Mountain Burns, but I’ll have to wait for it to be published!

    Reply

  8. Juan
    Oct 15, 2014 @ 19:08:28

    Biblioglobal, apreciado señor o señora, el libro By night the mountain burns está publicado.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
