What time is it ? Noble time

IMG_1912.JPGW

Well as the article in the Guardian pointed out yesterday we are just a month away from The Nobel literature prize being announced is it really 12 months since Alice Munro won ? The article mentioned the fact the odds of Ngugi Wa Thiong’o had shorten greatly ,well this served as a timely reminder that  I haven’t a book by him reviewed on the blog so I hope to reread grain of wheat or read petals of blood this next week or so , is the move a sign he is going to win ,for me usually a name or two jumps up in the weeks before it is the name on the few days before that the odd shorten on the tends to be the winner .As for the other names in the running according to ladbrokes –

Murakami favourite

Assia Djebar & Ngugi Wa thiong’o joint second favourites

Svetlana Aleksijevitj  & Joyce Carol Oates third favourites

then Adonis ,Kundera ,roth ,Nadas ,Dao ,Cartarescu ,Un ,Fossee Pynchon and Eco

Well it is similar list of names to last years list and my speculation post .For me I’d throw in Krasznahorkai,Goytisolo,Vila – Matas ,Marani  and Handke as names I’d love to see win .Who would you like to see win this year ?

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 1streading
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 19:15:45

    I’m Intrigued – where did you get that edition of Petals of Blood? Is it an African edition?
    On a related note, I’d be quite happy if he won (at least I’ve heard of him!)

    Reply

  2. Anokatony
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 20:25:04

    Of the names you mention, Vila-Matas is my current favorite.I’ve read two by him, both of which left me tremendously impressed.

    Reply

  3. heatherdpear
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 23:03:03

    I don’t have a preferred novelist, so any that are new to me would be most welcome.

    Reply

  4. whisperinggums
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 01:15:09

    I’d like to see David Malouf … though some Aussies suggest Gerald Murnane or Les Murray. Not that I’m being nationalistic but I do think Malouf has an excellent body of work – novels, short stories, poetry, essays and even a libretto or two – that speaks deeply to our humanity.

    Reply

  5. jacquiwine
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 07:31:34

    I’d love to see Vila-Matas win this…or Javier Marias. Spain all the way for me.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Twilight of Eastern gods by Ismail Kadare | Winstonsdad's Blog
  7. WordsAndPeace
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 04:17:14

    Murakami finally! otherwise Eco

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
