Winston’s books no post but !

IMG_1906

Well I’ve had no books in the post this week ,well that strictly isn’t true I had a parcel come today but I have to get it redelivered .So this week it’s two second hand buys I have brought this week .The first is the The Pianist by Wldayslaw Szpilman I saw the film by Roman Polanski of this book and at that time thought I ‘d A. like to read the book at some point and then B. Rewatch the film as I seen this online to stream I will be reading this soon then watch the film again .The second book is a favourite writer of mine the late Tomas Eloy Martinez an earlier book The Peron novel ,I have reviewed Santa Evita and purgatory by him on here before ,so I had this also on a list of books to read ,a mad cap look at Peron on his 1973 return to Argentina ,this book also nicely fits into Richard’s Argentinian and Uruguayan reading challenge from September .What books have you got this week ?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 1streading
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 18:09:40

    As it happens, I did get a book today – Andres Neuman’s Things We Don’t Do, which he’d very kindly signed despite the fact I couldn’t get to his reading at Word Power books in Edinburgh. Thanks to them for arranging that!

    Reply

  2. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 20:18:32

    Several – as featured here: http://kaggsysbookishramblings.wordpress.com/2014/08/29/more-library-love-and-a-little-bit-of-wickedness/ – and this is at a time when I’m not meant to be buying books!

    Reply

    • Lisa Hill
      Aug 30, 2014 @ 21:03:57

      Me too, I’ve told myself not to buy any more, at least not until I’ve got space on the shelves to put them.
      But I did buy one – just a tiny little one – it’s called Post-Modernism, a Graphic Guide – it’s one of a series of books that explains ‘isms’ in art and literature with graphics and cartoons.
      And a publisher sent me a collection of short stories but since I’m interested in novels, I’m not very excited about that…

      Reply

      • kaggsysbookishramblings
        Aug 31, 2014 @ 09:42:58

        It’s just impossible not to buy them – especially when your library doesn’t stock them – and then I happened to be in London yesterday and just happened to pass Charing Cross Road – *sigh* ……..

  3. jacquiwine
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 07:03:48

    No purchases this week, Stu, but I am going to join Richard’s Argentinian and Uruguayan lit fest…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
