Winston’s books favourite publisher writes

IMG_1903Well another week and three book have arrived at the house during the week a great selection .A writer whose two previous book I have really enjoyed ,A book from one of my favourite places to read books from Finland and lastly a favourite publisher that has a second book out .

Forever yours by Daniel Glattauer from Maclehose press ,I have reviewed the two previous book by him both also translated by Jamie Bulloch Love virtually and Every seventh wave were creavtive connected novels on love in the modern age a new take on the epistolary novel .Forever yours seems to take obsession and love itself as its main subject .

Rabbit back literature society by  PASI ILMARI JÄÄSKELÄINEN from Pushkin press A novel I had my eye on for a while as Pushkin as you all know is a publisher I love ,so to get sent this is a real bonus , plus its from Finland which to me is a favourite and much overlooked corner of European literature and to see a couple of bloggers and a review I trust mention in the press sheet made this tale of a women that has been invited to join the elite Rabbit back literature society ,only to find there is more than it seems to be ….

Clara’s Daughter by Mieke Ziervogel . Last and most important I got sent Meike’s second novel ,I am so happy as Meike is the force behind Peirene press  .I want to read Magda her first book ,but this second novel is set in North london and is a story of a daughter and her overbearing mother .We see how they end up living together and sorting out there relationship .

Which of this appeals to you or have you read ?

 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 18:46:05

    Anything from Pushkin Press is usually pretty good in my view!!🙂

    Reply

  2. jacquiwine
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 19:06:27

    A nice selection. I have Rabbit on my kindle and am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it. I really like the sound of Meike’s novel.

    Reply

  3. roughghosts
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 20:33:32

    Magda was a very tight, intense and disturbing novel. Curious to know if a mother can be more overbearing than Magda Goebbels.

    Reply

  4. Pam (Travellin Penguin)
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 03:35:55

    The two books that sound especially interesting to me is the one from Finland as I haven’t read much from that country and the North London mother and daughter. I love books that are based in London probably because it is so far from where I live in Tasmania. Looking forward to hearing about these if you decide to post up reviews.

    Reply

  5. Lisa Hill
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 05:03:32

    I like the sound of Rabbit Back Literature society – I missed the chance to visit Finland when we were in Russia the year before last, so reading books from there is probably the only chance I’ll get to discover the country! The only Finnish author I’ve ever read is Tove Jansson, and that was a children’s book…

    Reply

  6. cleopatralovesbooks
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 06:08:18

    Clara’s Daughter sounds very good.

    Reply

  7. Annabel (gaskella)
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:26:07

    I’m just starting Clara’s daughter – it’s excellent so far. I also have the Finnish book, yet to read Glattauer.

    Reply

  8. Guy Savage
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 15:37:19

    I like the sounds of Clara’s Daughter so I’ll be watching for reviews, thanks

    Reply

  9. samstillreading
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50:40

    Daniel Glattauer looks like an author I’d enjoy. Will check him out, thanks for the rec!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
