Holmes but will the book be like the films or better ?

hound of the baskervilles ,my 1982 copy

Now Amanda is organising a read along of this classic in October .Now this has set me think ,I think I’ve mention my love of crime tv shows and films ,well my all time favourite is of course Holmes and this story in particular .It’s been twenty plus years since I’ve read it but less than a month since I watched a film version of it that time it was the Ian Richardson and the Basil Rathbone in the same day ,and in the last year or two I’ve watched the hammer version ,Jeremy Brett version ,Matt frewer ,BBC version of the original and of course the Homage of the modern Sherlock series .Each is different in little ways ,not as much of course as the versions of Buchan’s 39 steps are ,but what has been missed from each and will I now be able to separate the films from the book  ?  Do we fix in our mind when we see a film a character ? I often find I have my own vision of characters I’ve read completely different to the actors cast in the film versions ,but in hindsight when think of the book years later see the actor that played the character .I want to break this and enjoy this readalong afresh as it is a classic I loved and think I still will love and also gives me an excuse to buy or get a new copy of the book to read along with ,have you a favourite edition  of the Hound of the Baskerviles  that is out now ?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 18:55:20

    I loved Jeremy Brett’s Holmes so I’m obviously very biased – however, I liked Peter Cushing as Holmes too? Have you seen that version, Stu?

    Reply

  2. Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 22:17:57

    Oh, the book version of Hound of the Baskervilles is infinitely better than any of the film versions I’ve seen–way, way better! I’ve signed on for October–thanks for alerting me. I can’t wait to reread it!
    Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)

    Reply

  3. amanda
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 23:58:41

    The only film version I can remember seeing is the recent Sherlock homage, so I guess I’m still fairly unsullied as far as book v. film goes. I’d like to try out some of the old classics, though, at least the Basil Rathbone version. Fingers crossed I’ll have time in October! Thanks for your enthusiasm in participating–I’m looking forward to it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
