A song for sunday

Simon over at stuck in a book does a song for sunday so I’ve decide to try and do a few songs I loved between now and the end of the year .A sort of history of me in songs so now too todays song and it’s Morrisey Debut single after he left The Smiths Suedehead ,his first solo song. I have recently listen to the new LP ,but something about time and age meant I was less excited than when I heard this ,which was I remember on a John Peel show as I used to record songs from his show on a tape and then listen to them for a week or two on my walkman this is song was on repeat at the time just before the single came out  .Do you feel less excited the older you get about new stuff and artist you have loved ?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 20:10:44

    Most new stuff leaves me cold, Stu, but this brings back many happy memories of taping stuff off Peel! I’m old enough to remember the first time he played The Sex Pistols!!

    Reply

  2. bythefirelight
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 22:30:58

    I find that I’m less excited by musicians as they go farther in their carers. I don’t know what it is, exactly. Seems like they hit a rut and just stay there. Not to say it isn’t hard to do new things. U2, for me, is a prime example. I was never a big Morrisey solo fan. Love the Smiths, so I can’t say about his new album.

    Reply

  3. Jonathan
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 22:54:50

    Some artists just carry on when they probably shouldn’t; Morrissey’s early solo stuff was good but he soon started churning out some quite turgid material. Some of my favourite bands from the 80s/90s are still producing excellent stuff – Swans and Dinosaur Jr especially. It’s worth checking out newer bands though – do you like ‘The National’? – they’d appeal to anyone, I feel, that liked Joy Division, Smiths etc.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
