#bookaday 25 never finished it

20140625-092624-33984156.jpg
Infinite jest brought it a few summers ago for a big readalong call infinite summer but got couple of hundred pages in and just hated all the tennis bits as tennis is a sport I was scared with as a kid having to sit and watch every summer Wimbledon when I’d rather have been watching cartoons or blue peter .That said I may return to it at some point .

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annabel (gaskella)
    Jun 25, 2014 @ 09:15:35

    I’ve given my copy of this one away without starting it! Well done you for getting so far in – I had no idea there were the tennis bits!

    Reply

  2. MarinaSofia
    Jun 25, 2014 @ 09:19:55

    Couldn’t agree more! I took this with me on holiday 2 years ago and sort of waded through it – skipping bits here and there. There were some good things there, but it was just too long. I just look at the zany eloquence of ‘Tristram Shandy’ and think: that’s the way to do it!

    Reply

  3. jacquiwine
    Jun 25, 2014 @ 09:30:27

    Despite my interest in tennis, I’m daunted by the size of this one…

    Reply

  4. Tony Messenger
    Jun 25, 2014 @ 11:14:22

    Hahaha I loved this one. My “never finished”??? The Satanic Verses – have started it more times than Rushdie has said “fatwa” but unreadable. As we know though Stu, we’re all different.

    Reply

    • Violet
      Jun 26, 2014 @ 05:22:56

      Hi, Tony. I can’t leave a comment on your blog because you have the dastardly embedded comments enabled and that system makes them disappear into the ether.:/ I’m not on Twitter any more, but I do miss chatting with you. I hope all is well.

      P.S. Sorry to hijack your comments, Stu.

      Reply

      • Tony Messenger
        Jun 26, 2014 @ 08:21:00

        Great to hear you’re all ok, I was a bit worried there for a while when you just disappeared. All is well, I’m very much looking forward to Spanish Lit month & then Women in Translation month. A big fundraiser coming up too, walking the full Larapinta for indigenous women culture retention.

  5. 1streading
    Jun 25, 2014 @ 19:10:27

    I also chose this as my unfinished read – like you, the tennis was just too much! Still feel slightly guilty about not reading it though. My other was Jean Genet – no guilt there, I don’t even care Bowie write a song about him!

    Reply

  6. bythefirelight
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 04:55:07

    I’ve never read it either. Maybe I should but there are so many books I’m already ding to read. Something about it has never peeked my interest.

    Reply

  7. Violet
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 05:18:15

    I’ve tried and tried to read it. I even bought a ‘reader’s guide’, but that was worse than useless. I call ’emperor’s new clothes syndrome’ on the book. I don’t know why critics are so excited about Wallace’s writing. I think he was just having a joke at their expense.

    Reply

  8. roughghosts
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 06:14:48

    The joy of a kindle is that I bought this book as a daily deal and no one will know I’ve never read it because it is virtually invisible on my book shelf. The one book I do have in several copies and translations is “Crime And Punishment”. I can’t even get to the murders and then stomach the idea of another how many pages with Raskholnikov. I think it is the cast not the writing. I loved “The Idiot”. Go figure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
