#bookaday 9 A film tie in book

20140608-232707-84427628.jpg
I generally don’t buy many film tie in covers having usually tried to have read any book I really love well before a film is made now the first choice I had for this wasn’t a tie in version but I was sent it when film was due out tarantula by Thierry Jonquet that became the film the skin I live in and is one of the most hit post on this blog with 2000 plus views .Instead I went for this bbc series tie in from last year I missed series working over Christmas but brought the book to read before it made it too netflix and is one of three books by Zola I hope to read soon .Do you but film tie-in coves ?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Guy Savage
    Jun 09, 2014 @ 00:20:26

    No I don’t buy the film-tie in covers as I’ve usually already read the book before the film comes along (it doesn’t always work that way though).

    Reply

  2. Col
    Jun 09, 2014 @ 06:00:25

    Quite the opposite for me. I would usually read in advance of film/TV tie in but if not I tend to avoid the editions with still photos from films on the cover. Not sure why but they seldom appeal to me as book cover images.

    Reply

  3. Maryom
    Jun 09, 2014 @ 08:10:32

    The only time I’ve deliberately chosen a film tie-in cover over a ‘standard’ one was in choosing which of two copies of The Ipcress File to keep – went for the scruffier Michael Caine cover. Although I have others – Chocolat, Cold Mountain, BBC War and Peace – they’re just accidental, generally easiest available copies of books previously read from the library.

    Reply

  4. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jun 09, 2014 @ 09:59:48

    I have this one too – simply because it was cheap in a charity shop!!

    Reply

  5. HappinessSavouredHot
    Jun 09, 2014 @ 14:22:39

    I’m reading Zola right now… L’Assommoir. Excellent excellent, I can’t believe I did not read it before (I have a Master’s in French Literature for goodness’ sake!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
