#bookaday 8 books you have more than one copy

20140607-233231-84751094.jpg
I don’t as a whole double up on books or so on ,my budget for books is tight so it has to be a bargain like these two I had these two I had the old orange penguins of each .The Waugh I brought as most of the waughs I have are these covers so want to complete the set at some point ,The Steinbeck I just loved the cover of this tortilla flats so it was 20p added to pile .I do like to try new translations when they appear and have thought of doing comparison post from one translation to other so I may double books up more but they be different actually .Why if you have various copies do you get them ?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bythefirelight
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 23:43:02

    I have two copies of Isaac Babel’s Lyubka the Cossack and his 1920 Diary. They are all translated by different translators so I keep them for that reason. If you haven’t read his war stories yet, I highly recommend them. some of the best short stories I’ve ever read. Of course I have a bunch of stuff in English and Spanish, Juan Rulfo and Andres Neuman for example, but I don’t think that counts.
    -p

    Reply

  2. Madame Vauquer
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 23:48:15

    I think the only books I have more than one copy of is translations and they’re by different translators. I know for Balzac I have multiple translations of Pere Goriot and Cousine Bette. For Zola, it is L’Assommoir and The Belly of Paris.

    Reply

  3. biblioglobal
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 00:24:15

    I have multiple copies of Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome because I love it so much that when I see a copy (which sadly isn’t that often in the U.S.) it’s hard to resist buying it. But they are useful for lending out to people.

    Reply

  4. Travellin' Penguin
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 00:51:26

    I have several copies of Jack London’s books because I love dogs and love the covers. I’ll buy Penguins sometimes that are duplicates because of the cover. I have recently just culled a lot of books and realised I bought duplicates because I forgot I had it all ready. Perhaps trying a new author I’ll buy the book and then see it again a year later and buy it over again.Fickle I know. I kind of get swept up in the moment.

    Reply

  5. jacquiwine
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 06:48:57

    At the moment, I’ve got two copies of Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City. I bought the first copy about 25 years ago and received the second as part of this year’s World Book Night. A member of our book group chose it for our May discussion, so we all received WBN editions, and I’m about to pass this copy on to another friend.

    Reply

  6. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 10:10:32

    I have five copies of The Master and Margarita – because they’re different translations! And two copies of If On A Winter’s Night a Traveller – because I need one to lend out to friends and force them to read.

    Reply

  7. whisperinggums
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 11:59:31

    Can you guess? I have at least two, and sometimes more, copies of every Austen novel – because I like the look or feel of different editions or am interested in things like the introductions. I also have two copies of her letters – the original Chapman edition and then one a few decades later after more letters were found by Deirdre Le Faye. I do have multiple dictionaries, but they are different e.g. Shorter Oxford, Macquarie, Websters 3rd International – but I don’t think this counts!

    Reply

  8. Caroline
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 15:29:00

    I have at least five copies of Baudelaire’s Les fleurs du mal.

    Reply

  9. Caroline
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 19:42:47

    All these are reasons I have multiple copies. Sometimes I first buy a ratty reading copy because I want to read a book right now!! and then later at a library book sale I’ll see an inexpensive used copy in a nice edition (folio or heritage) and indulge myself. I have both English and French versions of the last volume of In Search of Lost Time, because I was in Paris as I was finishing Proust and thought I might tackle it in French some day, so I have a paperback copy I picked up along the Seine as a memento. I have cheap double copies of favorites so I can lend one and not worry if it doesn’t come back. And of course the multiple translation reason. A couple I’ve listened to first and then decided I wanted in hard copy because it’s such a great work that I needed a more permanent, concrete attachment to the book; e.g. Anatomy of A Moment by Javier Cercas.

    Reply

  10. Col
    Jun 09, 2014 @ 07:15:26

    Usually if I have more than one copy of something it’s because am getting old and can’t remember what I’ve bought previously! However I do deliberately have three copies of Louis De Bernieres War of Don Emanuel’s Nether Parts – original hardback I read, paperback I got to re-read while on holiday and a signed early edition I bought in a moment of madness!!!!

    Reply

  11. BookerTalk
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 01:14:00

    I discovered three copies of Thomas Hardy’s Return of the Native. Our books are so badly organised that we never knew what we had

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
